Research Guides: American Indian Law Research Guide: Tribal Law

Research Guides, Portals & Bibliographies

Tribal Law Gateway: A Guide to Tribal Law Research
(National Indian Law Library)
Find tribal law materials by tribe name. Also offers guides on how to find tribal: laws (codes & ordinances; constitutions; court opinions; court rules; compacts & agreements; treaties; legal histories.
Researching American Indian Tribal Law
PDF copy of article by David E. Selden, Law Librarian, National Indian Law Library, published in February 2014 issue of The Colorado Lawyer, Vol. 43, No. 2, pg. 51-54.
"Whatever Tribal Precedent There May Be": The (Un)Availability of Tribal Law
This article explores the costs and benefits of publishing tribal law. Part I analyzes why tribal law is not more widely available; part II illustrates the benefits of making tribal law more accessible, and part III describes publication options for tribes. An appendix lists currently available tribal law collections. Citation: Bonnie Shucha, Whatever Tribal Precedent There May Be: The (Un)Availability of Tribal Law, 106 LAW LIBR. J. 199 (2014).
Indian National Archives: How to Build a Tribal Legal History
(National Indian Law Library) This guide by Nancy Carol Carter, provides a step-by-step process for locating documents to compile a tribal legal history.

Directories / Lists

Tribal Leaders Directory & Tribal Entities List
(Bureau of Indian Affairs) PDF copy of directory and list. Provides tribes’ name, address, phone, and fax number for each of the 566 Federally-recognized Tribes.
Federal and State Recognized Tribes
(National Conference of State Legislatures) A state-by-state listing of Indian tribes or groups federally recognized and a listing of tribes or groups that are recognized by states.
U.S. Federally Non-Recognized Indian Tribes - Index By State
Note: Last updated in 1997. Lists the approximately 245 federally non-recognized tribes.
Federally Recognized Indian Tribes and Resources for Native Americans
From USA.gov. Includes links to the BIA list of Federally Recognized Tribes published in the Federal Register and a link to the Tribal Leaders Directory (an interactive map).
First Nations Seeker: Directory of North American Indigenous Portal Websites
Tribes/Nations grouped linguistically.

Secondary Sources

American Indian Tribal Law by Matthew L.M. Fletcher
Call Number: Reserve KF8205 .F54 2011
ISBN: 9780735599758
Publication Date: 2011
The Erosion of Tribal Power by Dewi Ioan Ball
Call Number: KIE2055 .B35 2016
ISBN: 9780806155654
Publication Date: 2016-12-08
Contents: The Tribes, Federal Indian Law, and the Indian sovereignty doctrine from the nineteenth Century to 1959 -- The foundations of the silent revolution, 1959-1973 -- The silent revolution, 1973-2001 -- Native America, Congress, and the silent revolution -- The effects of the silent revolution -- Native American "Nation Building" during the silent revolution.
Introduction to Tribal Legal Studies by Justin B. Richland, Sarah Deer
Call Number: Reserve KF8205 .R53 2016
ISBN: 9781442232242
Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2016
Covers all aspects of tribal law and justice systems: history, structure, criminal and civil jurisdictions and more.
Broken Landscape: Indians, Indian Tribes, and the Constitution by Frank Pommersheim
Call Number: KF8205 .P636 2009
ISBN: 9780195373066
Publication Date: 2009
Navigating Tribal Law: leading lawyers on understanding the unique procedures, intricacies, and challenges involved with tribal cases by Thomson Reuters Westlaw; Aspatore (Compiled by)
Call Number: KF8205 .N38x 2012
ISBN: 9780314287083
Publication Date: 2012
Tribal Justice: Twenety-Five Years as a Tribal Appellate Justice by Frank Pommershein
Call Number: KIE110 .P66 2016
ISBN: 9781611636659
Publication Date: 2015
An web companion to this book is available online free.
American Indian Politics and the American Political System by David E. Wilkins; Heidi Kiiwetinepinesiik Stark
Call Number: E98 .T77 W545 2018
ISBN: 9781442252646
Publication Date: 4th, ed., 2017

Expert Working Group Report: Native American Traditional Justice Practices
Maha Jweied, Access to Justice Initiative
U.S. Department of Justice (September 2014)
more...less...
Summary of the proceedings of the Working Group. Discussion of Native American traditional justice practices and the Federal efforts needed to support them.

For the Record: 150 Years of Law & Lawyers in Minnesota by Minnesota State Bar Association
Call Number: KFM5478 .F67x 1999
Publication Date: 1999
See, "Tribal Courts in Minnesota", pages 193-194. Provides a brief overview of the history of tribal courts in Minnesota.

Tribal Law Journal
All issues of this University of New Mexico School of Law publication are available on the Journal's website. Articles in this journal are also available on HeinOnline and Lexis Advance
Tribal Court Handbook (State Bar of New Mexico & the Tribal Law Journal)
This handbook is intended to help attorneys and advocates become more aware of the various individual tribal court systems and to learn their rules and protocol. The handbook covers 22 tribal court systems.
Indigenous Governance Database
(Native Nations Institute, Univ. of Arizona) Features a comprehensive catalogue of materials on Native nation building and governance. Materials include text, video and audio resources accessible through a custom-built search engine, enabling visitors to find a variety of resources tailored to their specific topics of interest. Registration required.
State-Tribal Institute
(National Conference of State Legislatures) State-Tribal Institute tracks a variety of policy issues affecting state-tribal relations including economic development, environmental protection, human services, taxation, jurisdiction and law enforcement and trust land issues. The web site includes a news and developments section that covers state legislative issues and news; a reports and resources section that contains various publications including briefs, articles, reports and other documents. This web site also contains a Database of State-Tribal Legislation that allows users to locate legislative bills (introduced, pending and enacted) from the current legislative sessions of U.S. state and territorial legislatures.
Walking on Common Ground
(Tribal Law and Policy Institute) Walking on Common Ground is an on-going initiative to promote and facilitate tribal, state and federal collaboration.
Topical Collection - Tribal Justice
(National Institute of Justice, Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Dept. of Justice) Links to publications on the topic of tribal justice, published and/or sponsored by the National Institute of Justice, the research, development and evaluation agency of the DOJ.

Governing Documents (constitutions, codes, etc.)

Research Guides

How to Find Tribal Law: Constitutions
(National Indian Law Library) Provides expert advice and links to important resources for researching tribal constitutions.
How to Find Tribal Law: Codes and Ordinances
(National Indian Law Library) Provides expert advice and links to important resources for locating and researching tribal codes and ordinances.

Online Resources for Constitutions, Codes/Statutes

Native American Constitution and Law Digitization Project
This site is a joint project of the University of Oklahoma Law Library and the National Indian Law Library of the Native American Rights Fund. The site includes links to tribal constitutions and charters (including those of the Indian Reorganization Act era) and to tribal codes/statutes.
Tribal Laws/Codes
(Tribal Court Clearinghouse, Tribal Law & Policy Institute) Links to codes covering specific subject areas and tribes, as well as sample/model codes and other resources for drafting codes.
Constitutions of 440 Native American Tribes
The Memory Hole 2 obtained these documents through a "piggyback request" on the groundbreaking FOIA request of Kevin R. Kemper - a professor, journalist, and advocate for Native American rights. The documents arranged by geographic regions.

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
From the main Westlaw page begin typing, the name of the database "Tribal Codes" in the search box and click on Tribal Codes in the "Looking for this? suggested selections. The Tribal Codes database contains codes and constitutions of 24 tribes.

Print Sources Related to Tribal Governing Documents

Documents of Native American Political Development: 1500s to 1933 by David E. Wilkins
Call Number: E98 .T77 D63 2009
ISBN: 9780195327397
Publication Date: 2009
Documents of Native American Political Development: 1933 to Present by David E. Wilkins
Call Number: E98 .T77 D64 2019
ISBN: 9780190212070
Publication Date: 2019
On the Drafting of Tribal Constitutions by Felix S. Cohen; Lindsay G. Robertson (Foreword by); David E. Wilkins, ed.
Call Number: KF8221 .C64 2006
ISBN: 0806138068
Publication Date: 2007
American Indian Constitutional Reform and the Rebuilding of Native Nations by Eric D. Lemont, ed.
Call Number: KF8221 .A44 2006
ISBN: 0292713177
Publication Date: 2006
Tribal constitution Handbook: A Practical Guide to Writing or Revising a Tribal Constitution by Mark C. Tilden
Call Number: KF8220 .T55x 2007
ISBN: 9780979409905
Publication Date: 2007

Tribal Courts and Decisions

Research Guides

How to Find Tribal Court Opinions
(National Indian Law Library) Expert advice and links to resources for locating and researching tribal court opinions. Identifies online and print resources.
How to Find Tribal Court Rules
(National Indian Law Library) Provides research advice and links to resources for locating tribal court rules.
Tribal Court Decisions: Sources
(Mary Whisner, Gallagher Law Library, Univ. of Washington School of Law) This guide and the accompanying table, "Sources of Tribal Court Decisions," identifies and describes print and electronic sources for locating tribal court decisions. The "Sources of Tribal Court Decisions" table, lists tribes alphabetically and identifies the sources available for obtaining decisions.

Court Contact Information and Reference Sources

United States Tribal Courts Directory by April Schwartz; Mary Jo B. Hunter
Call Number: Reference KF8224.C6 S39 2011
ISBN: 9780837739274
Publication Date: 4th ed., 2011
Updated with new editions periodically. An invaluable source for contact information, including website addresses, and information about the courts (history, structure, jurisdiction, etc.)

Tribal Court Clearinghouse - Tribal Courts
(Tribal Law and Policy Institute)
Access to the Tribal Court Clearinghouse database of tribal court opinions is temporarily unavailable. The Clearinghouse offers a wealth of information and links to resources related to tribal law and tribal courts.
National Directory of Tribal Justice Systems: Including ICWA Contacts
(National American Indian Court Judges Association)

Court Decisions and Finding Aids

Online Resources

Westlaw This link opens in a new window
From the main WestlawNext page begin typing, the name of the database "Tribal Cases" in the search box and click on Tribal Cases in the "Looking for this? suggested selections. Contains selected opinions from 21 tribal, appeals or supreme courts from as early as 1997. Search by individual tribe or search all opinions in West's American Tribal Law Reporter. The Tribal Cases database also includes two other separate collections: West's Mashantucket Pequot Reports and Oklahoma Tribal Court Reports.
Fastcase This link opens in a new window
The Versuslaw tribal court decisions collection consisting of decisions from approximately 22 tribal courts. is currently in the process of migration to Fastcase. This is part of the Fastcase merger with Versuslaw. The tribal court decisions should become available on Fastcase in the near future.
HeinOnline/Fastcase Account Synchronization allows you to take advantage of additional features including ScholarCheck (a tool for locating articles & cases that cite a particular case), Bad Law Bot (a citator tool for locating negative treatment analysis), and Full-Text & Metadata Case Law Search capability. To access these tools, consult the Instructions on how to synchronize HeinOnline & Fastcase accounts.

Tribal Court Clearinghouse - Tribal Courts
(Tribal Law and Policy Institute)
Access to the Tribal Court Clearinghouse database of tribal court opinions is temporarily unavailable. The Clearinghouse offers a wealth of information and links to resources related to tribal law and tribal courts.
Tribal Justice: 25 Years as a Tribal Appellate Justice - Frank Pommersheim
Contains tribal court appellate opinions that have been written by Professor Frank Pommersheim. Professor Pommersheim sits as Chief Justice for numerous tribal appellate courts. The earliest opinion is dated April 24,1989. The opinions are organized by tribe and each tribe's opinions are listed year by year in chronological order. This website is the online companion to the forthcoming book, Tribal Justice: 25 Years as a Tribal Appellate Justice.

Print Resources

Indian Law Reporter by American Indian Lawyer Training Program
Call Number: Per .I44
This monthly looseleaf service reports cases from federal, state and tribal courts, as well as administrative agencies (many decisions available in full-text). Each monthly issue contains a topical index and table of cases. Cumulative topical indexes and case tables are provided for each volume. Note: the National Indian Law Library's Indian Law Reporter: Tribal Court Cases Index offers a browsable and searchable cumulative subject index to all of the tribal court cases in the Indian Law Reporter starting with Volume 2 (1974)
West's American Tribal Law Reporter
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8220 .A519
Hardcopy print version of the database on WestlawNext. Contains the full text of reported decisions of the appellate and supreme courts of several tribal nations (see Westlawnext description above), as well as decisions from various U.S. courts of appeals and the U.S. Supreme Court that address issues relevant to tribal law. The tribal decisions include West editorial enhancements, including synopsis, digest, and topic and key numbers.
Mashantucket Pequot reporter : opinions of the Mashantucket Pequot Court of Appeal and Tribal Court. by Mashantucket Pequot Tribe of Connecticut. Court of Appeals.; Mashantucket Pequot Tribe of Connecticut. Tribal Court.
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8228.P53 A433
Formed by the merging of: Mashantucket Pequot Reporter, opinions of the Mashantucket Pequot Court of Appeals. 1994-1999; and Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Court Reports, containing decisions of the Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Court. 1992-1999.
Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Court reports : cases argued and determined in the Mashantucket Pequot Court of Appeals, Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Court by Mashantucket Pequot Tribe of Connecticut. Tribal Court. Mashantucket Pequot Tribe of Connecticut. Court of Appeals
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8228.P53 A434
Includes opinions and decisions from 1994 to date issued by the Mashantucket Pequot Tribal Nation. Cases published in this series are enhanced with headnotes, key numbers, and synopses prepared by West's internal staff of highly trained attorney-editors.
Mvskoke law reporter : the decisions of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation = Mvskoke vhakv oh-kerkuecv by Melissa L Tatum; Michelle Grunsted
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8228.C9 A5 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Contains written records of the Muscogee Nation's district courts and Supreme Court decisions from 1832-1906, and a comprehensive set of opinions and orders issued by the Muscogee Nation Trial Court and Supreme Court from 1979-present.
Navajo Reporter by Navajo Tribe of Arizona, New Mexico & Utah. Judicial Branch.
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8228 .C9 A5
Publication Date: 1979-1980
Volume 1 (1969-1978) and Volume 2 (1979).
Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Court of Appeals and the District Courts of the Navajo Nation, Reporters by Navajo Tribe of Arizona, New Mexico & Utah. Judicial Branch.
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8228.N3 A5
Publication Date: 1983-1984
Volume 3 (1983), Volume 4 (1984).
Official Reports of Cases Argued and Decided in the Supreme Court and the District Courts in the Navajo Nation
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8228 .N3 A5
Publication Date: 1988
Volume 5 (1985)
Navajo Law Reporter by Navajo Tribe. Court of Appeals.; Navajo Tribe of Arizona, New Mexico & Utah. Judicial Branch
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8228 .N3 A5 1993
Publication Date: 1993
"Decisions and rules of the Navajo Nation Supreme Court (formerly Navajo Nation Court of Appeals), Navajo Nation District Courts, and Navajo Nation Family Courts (formerly Navajo Nation Children's Courts) compiled as parallel volumes to the Navajo reporter."
Court of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community: Reporter of Opinions by Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community. Court.
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8228 M435 A43x
Publication Date: 2003–
Decisions of the Tribal Court of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community. Vol. 1 (2003)–current.
Court of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community: Reporters of Opinions Court of Appeals by Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community. Court of Appeals.
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8228 .M435 A44x
Publication Date: 2003-.
Opinion of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community Court of Appeals. Vol. 1 (2003)–current.
Court of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community: Digest System. by Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community. Court.
Call Number: Law Library Reporters KF8203.36 C68x
Publication Date: 2003–
A digest of decisions from the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community Tribal Court and Court of Appeals. This topical index to decisions includes reporting and citation format information, and tables of cases.

Federally Recognized Tribes in Minnesota

In Minnesota there are seven Anishinaabe Bands (Chippewa/Ojibwe) reservations: Bois Forte Band of Chippewa; Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa; Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa; Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe; Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe; Red Lake Band of Chippewa; White Earth Band of Chippewa.

There are four Dakota (Sioux) Communities: Lower Sioux Indian Community; Prairie Island Indian Community; Shakopee-Mdewakanton Sioux Community; Upper Sioux Community.

Minnesota Indian Affairs Council
The Minnesota Indian Affairs Council (MIAC) was established in 1963 and is the official liaison between the State of Minnesota and the 11 tribal governments within Minnesota. The Tribal Nations section of the MIAC web site provides an instructive and concise "Overview of Indian Tribes in Minnesota" and helpful background information about each of the 11 tribal reservations and communities.

American Indians, Indian Tribes, and State Government by Minnesota Legislature. House of Representatives. Research Department
Call Number: eBook (pdf)
Publication Date: 8th ed., February 2023
The purpose of this report by the Research Department of the Minnesota House of Representatives, is to "introduce Minnesota legislators to the major legal issues involved in the relationship between Indian tribes, Indians, and state government. Issues covered include criminal and civil jurisdiction, gaming and liquor regulation, control of natural resources and environmental regulation, taxation, health and human services for Indians and education laws affecting Indian students.

Anishinaabe Bands (Chippewa/Ojibwe)

Minnesota Chippewa Tribe
Minnesota Chippewa Tribe is comprised of six member tribes: the Bois Forte, Fond du Lac, Grand Portage, Leech Lake, Mille Lacs, and White Earth.

Revised Constitution and Bylaws of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe (In addition to this copy, an additional copy is available on Westlaw under Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe Tribal Codes).

LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
The "Constitution and Bylaws of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe" (version approved July, 24, 1936) and the"Corporate Charter of the Minnesota Cheppewa Tribe of the Consolidated Cheppewa Agency," (ratified Nov. 13, 1937) are available on LLMC Digital (search LLMC catalog by subject, Minnesota Chippewa).

Zagaakwaandagowininiwag (Bois Forte Band of Chippewa)

Tribal Council Information
Tribal Court Information
1854 Treaty Authority
An Inter Tribal Natural Resource Management Agency that manages the off-reservation hunting, fishing and gathering rights of the Grand Portage and Bois Forte bands of the Lake Superior Chippewa in the terriority ceded under the Treaty of 1854.
Great Lakes Indian Fish & Wildlife Commission (GLIFWFC)
The GLIFWFC formed in 1984, represents the Ojibwe tribes in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan who reserved hunting, fishing and gathering rights under the 1837, 1842 and 1854 Treaties with the Federal government.
National Indian Law Library Catalog suggested subject search: Bois Forte Band of Chippewa Indians.

Nah-gah-chi-wa-nong (Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa)

Revised Constitution and Bylaws of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe (Fond du Lac web site) also available from the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe website and on WestlawNext.
Tribal Ordinances
Tribal Government Information
Tribal Court Information
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: Fond du Lac Band of Chippewa Indians.

Gichi-Onigaming (Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa)

Revised Constitution and Bylaws of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe (Minnesota Chippewa Tribe web site) also available on WestlawNext.
Tribal Government and Tribal Council Information (Grand Portage)
1854 Treaty Authority
An Inter Tribal Natural Resource Management Agency that manages the off-reservation hunting, fishing and gathering rights of the Grand Portage and Bois Forte bands of the Lake Superior Chippewa in the terriority ceded under the Treaty of 1854.
Great Lakes Indian Fish & Wildlife Commission (GLIFWFC) The GLIFWFC formed in 1984, represents the Ojibwe tribes in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan who reserved hunting, fishing and gathering rights under the 1837, 1842 and 1854 Treaties with the Federal government.
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: Grand Portage Band of Chippewa Indians.

Gaa-zagaskwaajimekaag (Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe)

Revised Constitution and Bylaws of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe (Minnesota Chippewa Tribe web site) also available on WestlawNext.
Tribal Codes "Tribal Court Codes" (Leech Lake Website)
Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe Tribal Code (WestlawNext)
Tribal Court Information, fines and forms (Leech Lake)
Tribal Court Opinions (WestlawNext, West's American Indian Tribal Law Reporter)
Tribal Government Information (Leech Lake)
Anishinaabe Legal Services (Provides legal assistance to low-income individuals living on or near the Leech Lake, Red Lake & White Earth reservations)
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: Leech Lake Band of Chippewa Indians.

Misi-zaaga'iganiing (Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe)

Revised Constitution and Bylaws of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe (Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe website) also available on Minnesota Chippewa Tribe website and Westlaw.
Band Statutes, and Personnel Policies & Procedures
Tribal Court Information (court rules, forms, calendar, brochures, fee schedule)
Precedent Case Laws (Citations and abstracts of selected precedential cases)
Tribal Court Opinions (Westlaw)
Opinions issued by Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians, Court of Appeals, beginning with 1998, as published in Westlaw, West's American Tribal Law Reporter.
Tribal Government Information (click on the Government link at top of page)
Chief Executive
Legislative Branch
Office of Solicitor General
Gaming Regulatory Authority and Detail Gaming Regulations
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians.

Settlement Agreement Between the Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians and the State of Minnesota Regarding Treaty Hunting, Fishing and Gathering Rights
PDF copy from Minnesota State Legislature's website. Print copy in Law Library, KFM 5905.6 .H85 M55 1993

Miskwaagamiiwi-Zaagaiganing (Red Lake Nation)

Tribal History (treaties & historic photos)
Red Lake Nation News
Tribal Government Phone Numbers
Red Lake Tribal Courts
Legal Department
Anishinaabe Legal Services (Provides legal assistance to low-income individuals living on or near the Leech Lake, Red Lake & White Earth reservations).
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: Red Lake Band of Chippewa Indians of the Red Lake Reservation, Minnesota.

Gaa-waabaabiganikaag (White Earth Nation)

Revised Minnesota Chippewa Tribe Constitution and Bylaws of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe also available on Westlaw.
Legal Codes also available on Westlaw.
Ordinances
White Earth Gaming: Black Jack Compact and Gaming Ordinances
Tribal Court Information see the Legal Codes webpage for court & judicial codes and rules.
White Earth Legal Department (Tribal attorneys & staff, legal aid and public defender contact information)
Reservation Business Committee (RBC) a.k.a. Tribal Council and Meeting Minutes.
White Earth Land Settlement Act (WELSA)
Departmental Case Hearings Division (Office of Hearings & Appeals, U.S. Dept. of Interior)
Anishinaabe Legal Services (Provides legal assistance to low-income individuals living on or near the Leech Lake, Red Lake & White Earth reservations).
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: White Earth Band of Chippewa Indians.

Cansa'yap (Lower Sioux Indian Community)

Constitution of the Lower Sioux Indian Community in Minnesota (Lower Sioux web site, as amended through Sept. 19, 2007).
Tribal Ordinances
Tribal Government Information
Tribal Court Information
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: Lower Sioux Indian Community in the State of Minnesota.

LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
The 1936 version of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Lower Sioux Indian Community as well as the Corporate Charter (as ratified in 1937) are available on LLMC Digital (search LLMC catalog by subject, Lower Sioux Indian Community)

Tinta Wita (Prairie Island Indian Community)

Constitution and Bylaws of the Prairie Island Indian Community in Minnesota (as amended, current)
Constitution and Bylaws of the Prairie Island Indian Community in Minnesota, original (1936)
Tribal Government includes tribal council information, tribal court information & court forms, and full-text pdf copies of tribal ordinances.
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: Prairie Island Indian Community in the State of Minnesota.

LLMC Digital This link opens in a new window
The 1936 version of the Constitution and Bylaws of the Prairie Island Indian Community and the Corporate Charter of the Prairie Island Community (as ratified in 1937) are available on LLMC Digital (search LLMC catalog by subject, Prairie Island Indian Community).

Mdewakanton (Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community)

Tribal History
Tribal Government Information | Departments and Administration
Tribal Court Decisions:

Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community. Court of Appeals. Court of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community : reporter of opinions ... Court of Appeals. Law Library Reporters 2nd fl. KF8228 .M435 A44x

Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community. Court. Court of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community: Reporter of Opinions.
Law Library Reporters 2nd fl. KF8228 M435 A43x

Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community. Court. Court of the Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux (Dakota) Community: Digest System.
Law Library Reporters 2nd fl. KF8203.36 C68x
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: Shakopee Mdewakanton Sioux Community of Minnesota (Prior Lake).

Pezihutazizi Oyate (Upper Sioux Community)

Tribal History
Board of Trustees Information
Tribal Court Information
National Indian Law Library Catalog Suggested subject search: Upper Sioux Indian Community of the Upper Sioux Reservation, Minnesota.