Legal History Research Guide

This special collection documents the African American legal community in Maryland from 1877 to date. Major collections include the Legal Papers of Dallas Nicholas and William Gosnell, The Papers of the NAACP, The Papers of William H. Hastie, the Baltimore Afro American newspaper on microfilm, the papers of Baltimore activist Lena Lee, the personal and professional papers of faculty member Larry Gibson, and The Clarence M. Mitchell, Jr. Collection." The collection is a project of the Thurgood Marshall Law Library, University of Maryland School of Law.

In the century before the creation of the Supreme Court of the United States, the British Privy Council heard appeals from the 13 colonies that became the United States and from the other ‘American’ colonies in Canada and the Caribbean. This catalogue focuses on all currently known colonial cases appealed to the Privy Council from the future United States, a number totaling nearly one-third of the more than 800 heard from the Americas. For the appeals from the 13 colonies, the catalogue provides links to original documents in England and the United States. Most significantly, the site includes images of surviving briefs filed in 54 of these appeals. Known as ‘printed cases’, these briefs provide the ‘reasons’ for the appeals.

The Avalon Project (Yale Law School, Lilllian Goldman Law Library) contains digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics and government. Coverage is from ancient times (as early as 4000bce) through the 21st century.

The Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive includes a selection of digitized photographs, letters, diaries, and other documents. Oral history transcripts are also available, as well as finding aids for manuscript collections.

The University of Michigan Law School's Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse is a growing collection of case documents and other information about civil rights cases in over 20 selected case categories across the United States. Coverage includes case filings and transcripts from state and federal courts at all levels (trial to highest appellate).

A Humanities Social Sciences Online discussion network sponsored by the American Society for Legal History. H-LAW solicits discussion of issues relating to teaching and research in the history of all legal traditions: common-law, civil-law, and all other legal systems.

This digital archive of the Thurgood Marshall Law Library, at the University of Maryland includes documents and publications of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.

More than 4,000 portrait images of lawyers, jurists, political figures, and legal thinkers dating from the Middle Ages to the late 20th- century drawn from the Harvard Law School's Legal Portrait Collection.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Cornell's Making of American collection migrated to the Hathi Trust in March 2018.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

The Minnesota Historical Society preserves and makes available a wide range of artifacts and materials chronicling Minnesota’s history. The Minnesota History Center's Gale Family Library provides online resources: digital collections, research guides and more.

A repository of materials relating to the history of debtor-creditor relations, bankruptcy and the reorganization of debt. The NBA collects records from the American College of Bankruptcy as well as from other organizations whose activities have been relevant to the history of bankruptcy and insolvency legislation, regulation, and administrative and judicial determination. The NBA also houses papers of individuals who have influenced the field, and other collections documenting the history of bankruptcy law. This archive is a collaboration of the Biddle Law Library at the University of Pennsylvania Law School and the American College of Bankruptcty.

Website of legal history scholar Otto Vervaart. The site provides introductions to the history of a number of legal systems and periods (Roman law, Medieval law, Canon law, Common law, and Old Dutch law). In addition to the introductory text for each legal system numerous references and links to print and web resources are also provided.

he Tax History Project was established by Tax Analysts in 1995 to provide scholars, policymakers, students, the media, and citizens with information about the history of American taxation. The project pursues its mission through a program of web-based documentary publication and original historical research.

This site is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. The site is organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. It currently includes over 100 document projects and archives with over 4,000 documents and more than 155,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by over 2,300 primary authors. It also includes book, film, and website reviews, notes from the archives, and teaching tools.

The website is the home of a searchable database of articles and papers on pioneering women lawyers in the United States. Also located here are the Indexes and Bibliographic Notes for Barbara Babcock, “Woman Lawyer: The Trials of Clara Foltz.”

offers a range of resources, including 1000 primary documents in text, image, and audio; an annotated guide to 850 of the best U.S. History websites; guides to using various kinds of online primary sources, such as oral history and maps; and moderated discussions about teaching. Designed for teachers of U.S. History survey courses at high schools and colleges around the world

This website is designed to help world history teachers and students locate, analyze, and learn from online primary sources and to further their understanding of the complex nature of world history, especially the issues of cultural contact and globalization.