Business and Commercial Law Research Guide

Click on the "Practice Centers" link below the search bar to access the Corporate Practice Center. The Center contains both primary source materials (federal & state laws & regulations, and other agency materials), and secondary materials including various practitioner tools and resources, legal analysis publications (books, treatises and BNA portfolios). Current awareness news publications focused on corporate, securities, mergers, antitrust developments.

On Lexis Advance, one can search by selecting Browse Topics, and then selecting the relevant topic. Lexis Advance, includes the titles published by Matthew Bender. Among the highlights are Business Law Monographs , Business Torts, Mark Lee's Organizing Corporate & Other Business Enterprises, Eaton's Professional Corporations & Associations, the Law Of Advertising, and Warren's Forms of Agreements. Lexis also includes several important treatises on the Uniform Commercial Code including Forms & Procedures under the UCC, Modern UCC Litigation Forms, and Secured Transactions under the UCC. The classic forms treatise Rabkin's and Johnson's Current Legal Forms with Tax Analysis is another Bender title available on Lexis Advance; it contains a wide range of forms with drafting guidelines.

On Westlaw select the "Practice Areas" tab to locate materials by area of practice, e.g. corporations, corporate governance, commercial law. Under the "Tools" tab, select "Business Information" to access corporate filings and disclosures, e.g. SEC Filings, as well as company profiles and financial information and more.

Coverage includes 800+ legal periodicals, law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, government publications and books, (dates of coverage vary but begin no earlier than 1980 for periodicals and 1993 for books).

This weekly service indexes 500+ legal periodicals into over 100 subject headings. In addition to the subject index, it lists the table of contents for each new journal issue covered. Weekly issues archived back to 1999 may be browsed or downloaded.

"The Minnesota Legal Periodical Index is a database of articles indexed by the Minnesota State Law Library. The publications indexed include law reviews published by Minnesota law schools, bar association publications, and commercial publications. See Publications Indexed for a list of titles, dates covered, and scope of coverage."

The Law Reviews & Journals database allows you to search the full-text of a growing collection legal periodicals. Coverage varies by title.

Lexis Advance provides a collection of full-text law reviews and journals. Coverage varies by title.

The Law Reviews & Journals collection in Westlaw contains full-text articles from academic and bar periodicals. Coverage varies by publication.