Research Guides: Federal Administrative Law Research Guide: FOIA Resources

Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Resources

FOIA Libraries "Electronic Reading Rooms"

Federal agency web sites include a "FOIA Library", (formerly called "Electronic Reading Room"). This is a section or page within the website that contains copies of frequently requested agency documents and publications. The agency's FOIA Library is the first place to check when searching for agency documents and prior to making a FOIA request.

Requesting Agency Records - FOIA Requests

The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) requires federal executive agencies to publish instructions on their web sites about how the public can request records from the agency. The resources below are helpful for learning more about FOIA and the process of making a FOIA request.

FOIA.gov
(U.S. Dept. of Justice) The "Learn" section (click Learn tab) of this web site includes informative videos and other basic information about FOIA, e.g. how to make FOIA requests. The "Where to Make a FOIA Request" section is helpful in obtaining FOIA contact information and links to online request forms for specific agencies. The FOIA.gov site also contains detailed reports on FOIA requests from data supplied by federal departments and agencies to the Department of Justice.
FOIAonline
FOIAonline is a FOIA tracking and processing tool for these federal agencies and offices: the EPA, Dept. of Commerce (except the US Patent and Trademark Office), U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Office of General Counsel of the National Archives and Records Administration, Merit Systems Protection Board, Federal Labor Relations Authority, the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation and the Dept. of the Navy (includes the Marine Corps). Users can submit FOIA requests to all participating agencies, track the status of requests, search for requests submitted by others, access previously released records, and generate agency-specific FOIA processing reports.
Office of Information Policy (OIP)
Part of the U.S. Dept. of Justice, the OIP is responsible for encouraging agency compliance with FOIA. The OIP develops and issues policy guidance to all agencies on proper implementation of the FOIA.
A Guide to Accessing Public Records for the First Time
This is an in-depth guide, published by Syracuse University, for those looking for information on accessing public records. It also defines the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), who it is for, and common FOIA request hurdles. The guide ends with valuable tips for first-time FOIA requests and provides a list of resources available to help with the FOIA Request Process.
United States Department of Justice Guide to the Freedom of Information Act
The Department of Justice publishes this comprehensive legal treatise on the FOIA. The Guide includes detailed discussions of the FOIA’s procedural requirements, nine exemptions, and litigation considerations. Each section contains a detailed analysis of the key judicial opinions issued on the FOIA. The Guide is updated by OIP on a rolling basis as significant new developments in FOIA occur.

Guidebook to the Freedom of Information and Privacy Acts by Cornish F. Hitchcock
Call Number: KF5753 .G851 (also on Westlaw)
Publication Date: Annual
Also available to Law faculty and students via Westlaw. Complete coverage of the law and in-depth analysis of both acts. Provides how-to information and details to cut through the red tape and procedures.
Federal Information Disclosure by James T. O'Reilly
Call Number: KF5753 .O743 (Available online see below)
Publication Date: 4th ed., 2012– (Updated periodically)
Comprehensive coverage of FOIA and its amendments. Includes expert guidance on how to win requests and protect confidential business information. Appendixes, model forms, and cases are included.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).

How, and How Often, Do Legal Academics Use FOIA
A Lawfare blog post in which the author notes, "...the actual use of FOIA and its state-law equivalents in legal academia has been quite limited. Data suggest that trend is now changing..."