Immigration Law Research

Also available online via Lexis (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).

A leading source on immigration law.

Chapter 8 on Immigration Law provides a good background about this subject and a comprehensive listing of primary and secondary sources

Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).

Covers elements of immigration court proceedings and the options available to immigrant clients: Grounds of Deportability; Grounds of Inadmissibility; Contesting Removability; Adjustment of Status; Waivers of Inadmissibility and Deportability in Removal Proceedings; Cancellation of Removal; Voluntary Departure; Administrative and Judicial Review of Removal Orders

Access to e-book version limited to U of M Law students, faculty, and staff.
Print copy available on Reserve KF4819.3 .W4 2023

Access to e-book version limited to U of M Law students, faculty, and staff.
Print copy available on Reserve KF4819 .U53 2019

Print and Online versions available

Available via HeinOnline access.

Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).

Covers important provisions of the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act (IIRAIRA), the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act (AEDPA), and the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (Welfare Act).
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).

Introduction to and overview of immigration law.
Also available via HeinOnline access.

Also available via JSTOR online access.

Comprehensive survey of the basic elements of asylum law, includes a thorough overview of asylum procedure, complete with practice tips for preparing and presenting an asylum claim. Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC) is a national non-profit resource center that provides legal trainings, educational materials, and advocacy to advance immigrant rights.

Summarizes important federal court asylum decisions since 1980.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).

Also available via ProQuest e-book access.

Also available via Cambridge Core online access.

Also available via JSTOR online access.

Also available via Cambridge Core online access.

Also available via Brill e-book access.

Also available via Taylor & Francis online access.

Available in print and online

Available in print and online

Also available via HeinOnline access.

Written for both immigration and criminal law practitioners, provides complete coverage of relevant laws, emerging issues, practical guidance, and tactical considerations. Covers categories of criminal convictions having immigration consequences (crimes of moral turpitude, drug-trafficking, aggravated felonies); procedure, strategies, and issues involved in the representation of the noncitizen; analysis of all aspects of conviction or other formal contact with the criminal justice system; postconviction remedies; implications of criminal convictions for legalization, asylum, voluntary departure, and naturalization; sample pleadings and forms.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).

Summary of the main points covered in N. Tooby & J. Rollin, Criminal Defense of Immigrants (4th ed. 2007)

Coverage includes: CHAPTER 1 - Interviewing of Immigrant Clients and Special Immigration Relief for Crime Victims; CHAPTER 6 - Immigration Consequences of Criminal Convictions; CHAPTER 8 - Immigration and Racial Profiling

Available in print and online

Available in print and online

Also available via JSTOR online access.

Also available on Westlaw.

Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).

Also available via Springer e-book access.