Legal History Research Guide

http://www.soas.ac.uk/cimel/materials/index.html

A highly recommended research guide by the Bodleian Law Library, University of Oxford. "The guide covers the laws of ancient civilisations situated in the geographical area around the eastern Mediterranean- the ancient Near Eastern, Egyptian, Greek, Jewish & Islamic societies which flourished during the first four millenniums BCE and were responsible for many of the very earliest recorded laws and legal systems."

The Avalon Project (Yale Law School, Lilllian Goldman Law Library) contains digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics and government. Coverage is from ancient times (as early as 4000bce) through the 21st century.

Part of the Internet History Sourcebooks Project. A collection of public domain and copy-permitted texts related to medieval and Byzantine history. “The Legal Texts section, …unites the texts on various aspects of the history of law in the ancient world - law codes, specific enactments/decrees/treaties, philosophical discussions, and constitutional documents.” Links to sources these source are arranged in the following categories: Ancient Legal History Generally,. Ancient Near East, Greece and Hellenism, Rome: Republic and Empire, and Other Ancient Cultures (India, Japan and China).

A highly recommended research guide by the Bodleian Law Library, University of Oxford.

This research portal to Roman law contains important texts, bibliographies and other research resources. Founded by Alexandr Koptev and Yves Lassard with contributions from various Roman law scholars.

This site provides a wealth of information and annotated links to a variety of online sources on Roman law. It includes links to reference resources, bibliographies, teaching materials, blogs and discussion forums, portals to Roman, civil and ancient law, and a "Sources" section with links to the principal sources for Roman law (Corpus Iuris Civilis [Imagines], Gai Institutiones, Iustiniani Institutiones, Iustiniani Digesta, Iustiniani Codex, and Novellae). The site is available in English and German.

Website of legal history scholar Otto Vervaart. The site provides introductions to the history of a number of legal systems and periods (Roman law, Medieval law, Canon law, Common law, and Old Dutch law). In addition to the introductory text for each legal system numerous references and links to print and web resources are also provided.

The essential part of this collection of pages is the representation of some fragments of the Corpus Iuris (the collection of laws initiated by the Emperor Justinian) with the apposite parts of the gloss of Accursisus. Includes links to other resources for legal history and classics on the web.

The Avalon Project (Yale Law School, Lilllian Goldman Law Library) contains digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics and government. Coverage is from ancient times (as early as 4000bce) through the 21st century.

This is a collaborative database on the published sources of English medieval legal documents, and links to online sources. A resource of the University of Southern California, Asa V. Call Law Library, it as been created for the use of students and scholars of English medieval law.

Website of legal history scholar Otto Vervaart. The site provides introductions to the history of a number of legal systems and periods (Roman law, Medieval law, Canon law, Common law, and Old Dutch law). In addition to the introductory text for each legal system numerous references and links to print and web resources are also provided.

This database is an Index and paraphrase of printed year book reports 1268 - 1535, compiled by Prof. David J. Seipp, Boston University School of Law. It indexes all year book reports printed in the chronological series for all years between 1268 and 1535, and many of the year book reports printed only in alphabetical abridgements. Of these reports, almost 6,000 from 1399 forward have been fully indexed and paraphrased in this database.

A web portal to medieval history, society and culture. Contains a number of links to resources on medieval legal history, including historic documents, articles, bibliographies, and links to other web resources.

Part of the Internet Medieval Sourcebook and the Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies. This section of the Sourcebook collects various online texts related to the history of medieval law.