Research Guides: Federal Administrative Law Research Guide: Agency Websites

Agency Websites

Information on Agency Websites

The information and features provided on agency websites can vary. However, agencies are required to make certain information available. Examples of information typically found include

Information about the history, organizational structure, personnel, mission and purpose of the agency
The agency's enabling legislation and other important legislation related to the agency's mission and programs
Agency regulations
Agency decisions
Agency interpretive, advisory and guidance documents
Agency enforcement documents
FOIA information.

The United States Government Internet Directory, edited by Mary Meghan Ryan (see below) offers a more complete summary of the types of information contained on agency websites. See also, the Digital.Gov web page, "Required Web Content and Links."

Resources for Locating Government Agency Websites & Information

The United States Government Internet Directory 2022 by Mary Meghan Ryan (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Office ZA5075 .G68
ISBN: 9781636710648
Publication Date: 2022
Published annually. The directory's chapters cover broad subject areas, e.g. agriculture, fishing and forestry, business and economics. This is an excellent source for locating agencies by topic.

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
(USA.gov) A good source for locating department and agency websites by name.

Archives of Agency Websites

Executive Branch Federal Government Web Archive
This Library of Congress collection includes websites from U.S. executive branch agencies. It includes main websites for cabinet level agencies but also specific reports, websites for individual parts of agencies, and websites for related organizations. This collection began in July 2016 and continues to the present (this is an ongoing archive). Many of these websites have older captures, however, as far back as 1996.
CyberCemetery
(University of North Texas Libraries & the Federal Depository Library Program)
"The CyberCemtery is an archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually web sites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information."