This is the "Home" page of the "Researching International Trade Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University of Minnesota Law School University of Minnesota Law Library

Researching International Trade Law  

researching international trade, researching WTO law, researching international trade law, researching NAFTA, legal research international trade
Last Updated: Aug 22, 2014 URL: http://libguides.law.umn.edu/internationaltradelaw Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Have a Question? Ask us!

Call us  612.625.4309

 Chat live with a librarian  Chat online

 Email a question  Email us

Library Hours Link  Visit us: Library Hours

Direction Icon Maps, Directions & Parking

 

About This Guide

This research guide describes how to research international trade law, primarily WTO and NAFTA law.

Introductory Sources

Here is a selected list of sources for international trade law (including FTA, NAFTA and GATT/WTO). To find more materials in the library, conduct some of the suggested MNCAT searches as indicated elsewhere in this guide.

You can also find useful international trade information on the internet. The best overall guide to GATT/WTO research is Jeanne Rehberg's WTO & GATT Research. Another useful guide is the American Society for International Law, ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: International Economic Law.  A 2010 Congressional Research Report sketches the legal framework governing trade-related measures from the U.S. perspective: Trade Law: An Introduction to Selected International Agreements and U.S. Laws.

Generally, WTO documents can be found on the WTO website. The Law Library also offers access to the subscription database WorldTradeLaw.net, which includes versions of WTO documents that are easier to retrieve and download than those on the official WTO site.  The Law LIbrary also offers TradeLawGuide, which offers the full text of WTO dispute resolution documents. Older documents, from the GATT era, can be found on the WTO site here, or at the GATT Digital Library.

Only selected WTO documents are published in paper sources. If you need paper sources, see Finding and Citing Paper Sources for GATT/WTO documents.

NAFTA documents can be found on the NAFTA Secretariat website.

A good collection of key sources and websites in international economic law is at the EISIL Project of the American Society of International Law.

 

Database Access Note: access to certain databases linked to in this guide may be restricted to members affiliated with the U of M Law School or the U of M Twin Cities campus. Please see our Databases Directory for further information on access privileges.

Guide Author

Profile Image
Kurt Meyer
Contact Info
Phone: 612-624-5334
Send Email
Position / Title:
Reference and Research Instruction Librarian
 

University of Minnesota Law Library
Walter F. Mondale Hall • 229 19th Avenue South • Minneapolis,MN 55455
Reference Desk: 612-625-4309 • Circulation Desk: 612-625-4300 • Contact Us

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip