This is the "Home" page of the "Researching Minnesota Law" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
University of Minnesota Law School University of Minnesota Law Library

Researching Minnesota Law  

minnesota law researching minnesota law minnesota legal research
Last Updated: Sep 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.law.umn.edu/minnesota Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Have a Question? Ask us!

Call us  612.625.4309

 Chat live with a librarian  Chat online

 Email a question  Email us

Library Hours Link  Visit us: Library Hours

Direction Icon Maps, Directions & Parking

 

About This Guide

This research guide provides useful starting points for Minnesota legal research. The guide covers major primary and secondary sources. 

The following more in-depth research guides provide additional information:

John Tessner, Brenda Wolfe, George R. Jackson, Minnesota Legal Research Guide.  2d ed. 2002  Law Library KFM5475 .S62x 2002; Law Library Reference Office KFM5475 .S62x 2002

Suzanne Thorpe, Minnesota Legal Research. 2010 Law Library Reference Office KFM5475 .T48 2010

In addition, the following CALI exercises offer law students useful tips for conducting Minnesota legal research:

Erin Schlicht, Minnesota Legal Research - Primary Sources.

Erin Schlicht, Minnesota Legal Research - Secondary Sources.

Database Access Note: access to certain databases linked to in this guide may be restricted to members affiliated with the U of M Law School or the U of M Twin Cities campus. Please see our Databases Directory for further information on access privileges.

Starting Points for Minnesota Legal Research

 

When beginning a research project on an unfamiliar topic, it is helpful to consult journal articles and treatises covering your topic. They explain the law and provide references to relevant statutes, regulations, and cases. The following  treatise series is particularly useful for Minnesota legal research:

Minnesota Practice Series Law Library Reserve KFM 5480 .M53; Law Library Reference Office KFM 5480 .M53

This multi-volume series consists of separately titled treatises. To find an appropriate volume, consult the general index for the entire series. The volumes provide well-written descriptions of major areas of Minnesota law and include overviews, practice tips, case and statute citations, and forms.

The following legal encyclopedia also is an excellent introductory tool for identifying concepts in Minnesota law. 

Dunnell Minnesota Digest ("Dunnell's") Law Library Reference KFM5445 .A17; Law Library Reference Office KFM5445 .A17

This multi-volume encyclopedia is arranged alphabetically by topic. For each topic,there is a brief description of current law, with citations to statutes and cases.

      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Suzanne Thorpe
    Contact Info
    tel. 612 6125 0187
    email: s-thor@umn.edu
    Send Email
    Position / Title:
    Associate Director for Faculty, Research, and Instructional Services
     

    University of Minnesota Law Library
    Walter F. Mondale Hall • 229 19th Avenue South • Minneapolis,MN 55455
    Reference Desk: 612-625-4309 • Circulation Desk: 612-625-4300 • Contact Us

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip