Skip to main content

Law Student's Guide to the Law Library During COVID-19 Shutdown

What is available at the Law Library During the Shutdown?

As updated on March 16, 2020, by President Joan Gabel and in response to the challenges of COVID-19, all Law Library staff are working remotely until further notice. We regret the inconvenience this may cause, but assure you that the Law Library remains committed to assisting students in every way possible.

  • Although the circulation desk will not be staffed and reference services will only be provided remotely, UMN Law students retain U Card access to the Law Library.
  • Law Library staff members are still available to assist you via email, phone, or virtual meeting. 
  • If you have books checked out, you can keep your materials even if they are overdue. We have extended due dates and we are not charging fines! This includes interlibrary loans.

Please explore this guide to learn more about the services and resources that are available. We look forward to assisting you!

Online Resources

All of our digital holdings are still available for use, and we are working hard to add new collections to support students and faculty during the shutdown.

Study Aids

West Academic Study Aids Digital Collection: Features study aid publications and materials in ebook, audio and video formats. The collection includes popular series such as Hornbooks, Nutshells, Black Letter Law, Gilbert Law Summaries, Legalines, and many others.

Carolina Academic Press Study Aids: Features ebook versions of study aid series including, MasteringQ & ASkills & Values, and Understanding. It also includes treatises on various areas of law and practice, from adoption law to water law.

VitalSource: Selected Wolters Kluwer study aids, including many titles in the popular Examples & Explanations series, are available online through May 24. Visit bookshelf.vitalsource.com and create an account using your umn.edu email address.  Step-by-step instructions for creating an account are available here. Once you create an account, log in and click on the “Explore” tab in the upper left corner of the screen and search by title. Each student can download up to seven titles. Additional details about this program are available here.

Online Casebook Access

The Law Library has been working with casebook publishers to obtain online access for law students who do not currently have access to their required course texts. If you are unable to access your textbook through the resources listed below, contact Connie Lenz, lenzx009@umn.edu, for assistance.

VitalSource: Online access to Carolina Academic Press and Wolters Kluwer casebooks, NITA Casefiles, and some other texts through May 24. Visit bookshelf.vitalsource.com and create an account using your umn.edu email address.  Step-by-step instructions for creating an account are available here. Once you create an account, log in and click on the “Explore” tab in the upper left corner of the screen. This tab provides access to the freely available e-textbooks, which you can search by title. Each student can download up to seven titles. Additional details about this program are available here.

West Academic is offering students complimentary digital access to required West Academic and Foundation Press casebooks. The offer is intended only for students who do not have access to their purchased casebook due to the suspension of in-class instruction. To set up your eBook, call West Academic at 877.888.1330 (ext.4). If you don't already have a West Academic Online Study Aids account, set up a West Academic account at https://eproducts.westacademic.com/.  Please note that this is a West Academic account, which differs from a Westlaw password.

LexisNexis is providing access through mid-May to LexisNexis and Carolina Academic Press casebooks on the LexisNexis Digital Library platform, where you may sign in with your x500 ID and password. Search your casebook by title to see if it is available. 

Law Library Facilities

Library Access

The Law Library is accessible to law students and faculty via U Card. Wave your U Card in front of the card reader located at the Law Library entrance doors for access at any time.

Campus Security will continue to provide walkthroughs of the building, though a security monitor may not be available in the Mondale Hall lobby as when on-campus classes are in session.

Study Rooms

Law Library study rooms are not available until further notice. Students may wish to visit room 153, located in the plaza level reading room, or the 4th floor computer lab for quiet places to study.

Security

Mondale Hall and the Law Library are currently locked 24 hours a day. Campus Security will continue to provide walkthroughs of the building, though a security monitor may not be available in the Mondale Hall lobby as when on-campus classes are in session. As always, please do not let anyone else into Mondale Hall or the Law Library with you, and do not to leave your possessions unattended.

Printing

Law School printers are managed by Law IT. More information may be found on their website: z.umn.edu/lawtech.

 

Reference

Reference Questions

Available by email: law-ref@umn.edu or voicemail: 612-625-4309.

Monitored Mon. - Fri. 9am - 5pm, Sat. 11am - 5pm & Sun. Noon - 5pm.

Research Consultations

Virtual research consultations can be scheduled by contacting law-ref@umn.edu or one of the reference librarians.

COVID-19 Research Guide

COVID-19 Research & Information Resources. This Research Guide provides links to selected legal research and general information sources on COVID-19.

Circulation

Checking out Physical Items

The circulation desk is closed, and we are not checking out physical items until further notice.

Returns

We are extending the due dates for all items and we are not charging overdue fines. 

If necessary, UMN library books may be returned to either of the Law Library’s book drops. The outside book drop is located in the Mondale Hall traffic circle, and the inside book drop is located next to the Law Library circulation desk. Staff are currently unable to empty books drops on a regular basis. There may be a significant delay before patrons’ library accounts reflect books that are returned to the Law Library.

Reserve Items

Items held on reserve will not be available until further notice. Many study aids and course materials held on Reserve are now available in electronic format. Please see information on Study Aids and Online Casebook Access in the Online Resources section.

Questions

Email: lawcirc@umn.edu

Interlibrary Loan

Physical Requests

Physical materials are unavailable until further notice. 

Electronic Requests

ILL will attempt to fill law student and faculty requests for articles and documents in electronic format.

Returns

We are extending the due dates for all items and we are not charging overdue fines. 

If necessary, interlibrary loan books may be returned to either of the Law Library’s book drops. The outside book drop is located in the Mondale Hall traffic circle, and the inside book drop is located next to the Law Library circulation desk. Staff are currently unable to empty books drops on a regular basis. There may be a significant delay before patrons’ library accounts reflect books that are returned to the Law Library.

Questions

Email: x-asap@umn.edu


University of Minnesota Law Library
Reference Desk: 612-625-4309 • Circulation Desk: 612-625-4300 • Contact Us