Law Enforcement and Racial Justice

This coursebook, "explores the complex nature of the police community relationship, delving into topics that include how and why police have developed over time, the nature of community-oriented policing, emotional intelligence, humanistic policing and more. The second edition includes a new chapter on the law regarding police authority and constitutional law." Author is a retired police officer and Associate Professor of Criminal Justice at University of Wisconsin-Plattesville.

"Above the Law, recounts sixteen cases in which justice was denied because of QI [Qualified Immunity]. It also contains short articles about QI from police officers, judges, lawyers, activists and constitutional law experts."

Provides a critical evaluation of depolicing through original qualitative research.

"In Hands Up, Don't Shoot, Jennifer Cobbina draws on in-depth interviews with nearly two hundred residents of Ferguson and Baltimore, conducted within two months of the deaths of Brown and Gray. She examines how protesters in both cities understood their experiences with the police, how those experiences influenced their perceptions of policing, what galvanized Black Lives Matter as a social movement, and how policing tactics during demonstrations influenced subsequent mobilization decisions among protesters. Ultimately, she humanizes people's deep and abiding anger, underscoring how a movement emerged to denounce both racial biases by police and the broader economic and social system that has stacked the deck against young black civilians."

Downloadable PDF. "This report serves as a starting point for communities and police departments to work together to achieve policing reform in the 21st century. It covers best practices in a dozen areas that are fundamental to fair, safe, and effective policing." The best practices presented in this report are meant to build upon the recommendations found in the 2015, Final Report of the President’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing.

eBook available via JSTOR eBooks and University Press Scholarship Online - Oxford Scholarship Online.

eBook available via De Gruyter ebooks and JSTOR Books Complimentary Collection.

eBook access via National Academies Press Monographs.

Also available via ProQuest e-book access.

A behind-the-scenes account of the #blacklivesmatter movement shares insights into the young men and women behind it, citing the racially charged controversies that have motivated members and the economic, political, and personal histories that inform its purpose.

Available in print and eBook (ProQuest eBook Central),

Print copies available in Law Library and Wilson Library

Available via Hein Online access.

Available via Sage Reference online access.

eBook (SpringerLink Books).

Available in print and eBook ( JSTOR Books Complimentary Collection and EBSCOhost Academic eBook Collection).. Note: access contains some newly available content due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Access to the additional content will end on 06/30/20.