Law Enforcement and Racial Justice

The Brennan Center’s law and policy scholarship is largely written by attorneys and covers a variety of topics. The Center’s publications are nonpartisan; most works are stand-alone journal-length articles. The Center's work focuses on a wide range of issues, such as voting rights, campaign finance reform, racial justice in criminal law, and Constitutional protection in the fight against terrorism. The Center considers itself to be a think tank, public interest law firm, advocacy group and communications hub. Its law and policy scholarship addresses many issues, is largely written by attorneys, and is extensively peer-reviewed by scholars and legal practitioners. Once a year, the Center publishes a book-length volume, Democracy and Justice: Collected Writings, which compiles excerpts from the year’s shorter scholarship and includes new material for that publication.

"Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse, at the University of Michigan Law School, brings together and analyzes information and documents about important civil rights cases across the United States. The website's case search template provides a number of search functionality features. Cases concerning law enforcement can be browsed using the "Case Type" feature and selecting "Policing. "The policing collection is not comprehensive. But it contains a great deal of information not readily available elsewhere, about injunctive cases involving alleged racial profiling as well as non-profiling cases about use of force and other issues."

"This HeinOnline collection offers an historical overview of how criminal justice has changed in American and English law and the effect criminology has had in facilitating those changes. It collects government documents as well as rare or hard to find pamphlets, memoirs, and books written by ordinary law enforcement officers and not-so-famous criminals."

In addition to Lexis' Law Reviews & Journals articles database, Lexis also includes a number of secondary sources, e.g. texts, treatises and newsletters related to criminal justice topics. Notable titles include: Police Civil Liability; .Police Journal: Theory, Practice and Principles and Police Quarterly.

Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. The NCJRS Abstracts provides access to more than 225,000 collection records and over 80,000 online resources, including all known Office of Justice Programs works. The Online NCJ Thesaurus Search allows users to discover related search terms, and perform a more comprehensive search of the NCJRS Abstracts Database.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service), "covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more. PAIS International is the current file covering 1972 to present, and PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976."

Policy File Index draws its content from public policy think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers. Some well known contributors include: the American Enterprise Institute, Brookings Institution, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Cato Institute, Center for Defense Information, Center for Strategic and International Studies, Council on Foreign Relations, Democratic Leadership Council, Economic Strategy Institute, Federation of American Scientists, Heritage Foundation, Hoover Institution, Hudson Institute, Institute for International Economics, International Monetary Fund, National Center for Policy Analysis, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, United States Institute of Peace, and the World Bank. Where available, access to home pages, electronic mail addresses and fulltext are made available within individual abstracts. Coverage is from 1990 to present.

A comprehensive database of U.S.and international criminal justice journals. Abstract and indexing for over 250 titles, with articles from more than 100 journal titles available in full-text. Earliest coverage starts in 1981 (varies by title).Topics include: criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

SSRN is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of an Abstract Database containing abstracts of thousands of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection containing thousands of full text documents in pdf format.

In addition to Westlaw's Law Reviews & Journals articles database, Westlaw also includes a number of secondary sources, e.g. texts, treatises and newsletters related to criminal justice topics. Notable titles include: ABA Standards of Criminal Justice; Citizen Oversight of Law Enforcement; Hate Crimes Law; Police Misconduct: Law & Litigation; Arrest Law Bulletin; Investigative Stops Law Bulletin and Law Officers' Bulletin.

"Oxford Handbooks series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field. Each Handbook offers thorough introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship, creating an original conception of the field and setting the agenda for new research. Handbook articles review the key issues and cutting-edge debates, as well as providing arguments for how those debates might evolve." Listed below are seven of the 17 Handbooks in the Criminology and Criminal Justice Handbooks series.

A guide to selected literature covering the various subfields of criminology, combining the features of a high-level encyclopedia and traditional bibliography. Each article includes a concise introduction/overview of the topic, followed by a selective annotated bibliography of books, articles and other resources. Articles are written, compiled and reviewed by top-scholars in the field.