Intellectual Property Research

Provides links to many copyright, cyberspace law, patent, and trademark organizations, primary sources, and practice materials.

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is an intergovernmental organization with headquarters in Geneva. It is one of the 16 specialized agencies of the United Nations system of organizations. WIPO is responsible for the promotion of the protection of intellectual property throughout the world through cooperation among States, and for the administration of various multilateral treaties dealing with the legal and administrative aspects of intellectual property. For foreign intellectual property research, WIPO’s Collection of Laws for Electronic Access (CLEA) provides access to legislation from a wide range of countries and regions as well as treaties on intellectual property.

(University of New Hampshire School of Law)
Contains an extensive collection of IP information resources, with individual collections relating to copyright, trademark, patents, etc.

Provides copyright search information (works registered and documents recorded by the U.S. Copyright Office since January 1, 1978).

The Catalog of Copyright Entries is the U.S. Copyright Office’s official publication of copyright registrations and renewals.

(Stanford University Libraries)
Includes primary case law, statutes, and regulations, as well as current feeds of newly filed copyright lawsuits, pending legislation, regulations, copyright office news, scholarly articles, and blog and twitter feeds from practicing attorneys and law professors.

(Office of the General Counsel at University of Texas)
This guide, maintained by University of Texas Libraries, is arranged into several sections that allow users to explore certain areas of copyright law individually or as a group. The Course was originally created with faculty in mind, but can be used by anyone who is interested in understanding and managing their copyrights.

The CCC is a licensing broker, providing collective copyright licensing services for corporate and academic users of copyrighted materials. Allows users to search for and obtain permissions to use a wide variety of copyrighted works.

CSUSA is a non-profit organization devoted to copyright law awareness and education. This site contains links to domestic and international copyright legislation as well as links to copyright-related organizations and blogs.

Contains information relating to the licensing of copyright-protected music, either via broadcast or live performance.

Contains an overview of U.S. and international copyright legislation and links to IP agencies and organizations.

The University of Minnesota's Board of Regents Copyright Ownership Policy sets out the rules governing the ownership of works created by University faculty, staff and students.

(University of Minnesota Libraries)
A helpful guide to understanding the various uses of copyrighted materials and how they implicate copyright rights. Explains many limitations and exceptions to copyright owners' rights and circumstances where uses may be exempted.

Database of copyright contacts for writers, artists, and prominent figures in other creative fields.

(University of New Hampshire School of Law)
Contains copyright appeals decisions, Copyright Office practices, Copyright Royalty Tribunal Notices and Proceedings Archive, and more.

Contains resources such as guides to the patent and trademark application process, overviews of different areas of U.S. IP policy and practice, and databases of patent and trademark applications and registrations.

All patents available through Google Patents come from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

Provides information and resources on patents in Europe, including patent searching, patent application, and patent law and practice. Includes news and information sources on patent issues and developments, as well as annual reports and statistics reports.

(University of New Hampshire School of Law)
Contains patent directories, full-text court documents from important patent law cases and appeals, a patent searching glossary, and more.

Contains resources such as guides to the patent and trademark application process, overviews of different areas of U.S. IP policy and practice, and databases of patent and trademark applications and registrations.

Online access provided through the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO).

Archived copies of the USPTO's Official Gazettes for patent and trademark applications and grants.

A specialized agency of the United Nations, the WIPO has 191 member states and administers 26 international IP-related treaties. This site contains global IP news updates, a searchable global database of trademarks and brands, resources for filing international trademark and patent applications, and much more.

Offers access to Trademark Association periodicals, publications, and practice guides, articles on various trademark topics, and international trademark policy documents.

(University of New Hampshire School of Law)
Contains a collection of USPTO trademark decisions, trademark exam guides, and more.