Many of the resources listed in this guide are from Nolo, which has been publishing self-help legal materials since 1971 and now has a vast network of legal information available for free online. You can search the Nolo site directly for the most up-to-date information or you may search in MNCAT Discover for print and eBooks publications, which are available in the Law Library or a library database. Combining "Nolo" with terms denoting an area of law will retrieve self-help materials on a specific topic. For example, a search for "Nolo personal injury" retrieves, among other titles, How to win your personal injury claim by J. L. Matthews, which is available in the law library (Reserve KF1257 .M37 2015).
A Recommended Guide
A Layperson's Guide to Legal Research and Self-Help Law Books, by Kendall F. Svengalis, available in the Law Library Reference Office, call no. Reference Office KF1 .S94 2019. Includes over 800 titles in 85 subject areas, predominantly of the self-help variety.
You can also do a keyword search on your topic and the phrase "popular works." For example combining "divorce" with "popular works" retrieves Divorce without court: a guide to mediation & collaborative divorce by Katherine E. Stoner which is available in the law library (Reserve KF535.Z9 S76 2012).
Continuing legal education materials may also be very helpful and can be found by doing a keyword search on your topic and the phrase "legal education." For example, "legal education second-parent adoption" retrieves Minnesota DWI deskbook by Marsh J Halberg which is available in the law library (Reserve KF209 .M54x 2013 no.8).
The books listed below are examples of what you may find at the University of Minnesota Law Library. The latest editions can be found on Reserve at the Circulation Desk; earlier editions may be in the general collection.
Bankruptcy for Small Business Owners by 
Chapter 13 Bankruptcy: Keep Your Property & Repay Debts Over Time by 
Credit Repair; Make a Plan, Improve Your Credit, Avoid Scams by 
How to Win Your Personal Injury Claim by 
Solve Your Money Troubles: Strategies to Get Out of Debt and Stay That Way by 
Dealing with debt: your rights and responsibilities in Minnesota by 
How to File for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy by 
The New Bankruptcy; will it work for you? by 
Form a Partnership by 
Form Your Own Limited Liability Company by 
How to Form a Nonprofit Corporation: A Step-by-Step Guide to Forming a 501(c)(3) Nonprofit in Any State by 
Incorporate Your Business: A Step-by-Step Guide to Forming a Corporation in Any State by 
LLC or Corporation? Choose the Right Form for Your Business by 
Nolo's Quick LLC: All You Need to Know About Limited Liability Companies by 
Starting and Building a Nonprofit: A Practical Guide by 
Your Limited Liability Company; An Operating Manual by 
How to Write a Business Plan by 
The Small Business Start-Up Kit by 
Legal Forms for Starting and Running a Small Business by 
101 Law Forms for Personal Use by 
Contracts: the essential business desk reference by 
Everybody's Guide to Small Claims Court by 
Represent Yourself in Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Civil Case by 
A Short & Happy Guide to Civics by 
Criminal Law: A Desk Reference by 
The Criminal Law Handbook; know your rights, survive the system by 
Nolo's Deposition Handbook by 
Nolo's Plain-English Law Dictionary by 
Consultant and Independent Contractor Agreements by 
Create Your Own Employee Handbook by 
The Employer's Legal Handbook: Manage Your Employees & Workplace Effectively by 
The Essential Guide to Family and Medical Leave by 
The Essential Guide to Federal Employment Laws by 
The Essential Guide to Handling Workplace Harassment and Discrimination by 
The Essential Guide to Workplace Investigations; a step-by-step guide to handling employee complaints & problems by 
The Manager's Legal Handbook by 
Your Rights in the Workplace by 
Building a Parenting Agreement That Works: Child Custody Agreements Step by Step by 
Nolo's Essential Guide to Divorce by 
Divorce After 50: A Guide to the Unique Legal & Financial Challenges of Your Divorce by 
Divorce and Money: Make the best financial decisions during divorce by 
A Legal Guide for Lesbian and Gay Couples by 
Living Together: A Legal Guide for Unmarried Couples by 
Prenuptial Agreements by Rights and responsibilities of unmarried parents by Getting a divorce: a basic guide to Minnesota law by Orders for protection and harassment restraining orders by 
Becoming a U.S. Citizen: A Guide to the Law, Exam & Interview by 
How to Get a Green Card by 
U. S. Immigration Made Easy (NOLO) by 
Fiance and Marriage Visas; A Couple's Guide to U.S. Immigration by 
The Copyright Handbook: What Every Writer Needs to Know by 
Patent, Copyright and Trademark; An Intellectual Property Desk Reference by 
Patent It Yourself by 
Patent Pending in 24 Hours by 
Patent Searching Made Easy; How to Do Patent Searches Online and in the Library by 
The Public Domain: How to Find & Use Copyright-Free Writings, Music, Art & More by 
How to Make Patent Drawings by 
Nolo's Patents for Beginners by 
Trademark; legal care for your business & product name by 
Every Landlord's Legal Guide by 
Every Tenant's Legal Guide by 
Leases and Rental Agreements; Essential rental forms every landlord needs by Tenants' rights in Minnesota by 
A Layperson's Guide to Legal Research and Self-Help Law Books by 
Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law by 
Nolo's Guide to Social Security Disability by 
Social Security, Medicare and Government Pensions by 
IRAs, 401(k)s and Other Retirement Plans by 
Music Law: How to Run Your Band's Business by 
How to Win Your Personal Injury Claim by 
The Foreclosure Survival Guide by 
Stand up to the IRS by 
Estate Planning Basics by 
Estate Planning for Blended Families by 
The Executor's Guide: Settling A Loved One's Estate or Trust by 
Make Your Own Living Trust by 
Plan Your Estate by 
Quick and Legal Will Book by 
Special Needs Trusts; protect you child's financial future by 
The Trustee's Legal Companion by 
Tax Savvy for Small Business by 
