Research Guides: Business and Commercial Law Research Guide: Sales / Uniform Commercial Code Article 2

Uniform Commercial Code Text Sources

Uniform Laws Annotated (ULA) by American Law Institute
Call Number: Reference KF165.A5 1968, also available on Westlaw.
Publication Date: 1998. Updated annually.
The UCC is in volumes 1-5. See volume 6 for Business and nonprofit organizations and associations laws, including Partnership Acts and Limited Liability Company Acts. Business and financial laws, including Securities Acts and the Electronic Transactions Act, are in the volume 7. Also available on Westlaw.
Uniform Commercial Code: Official Text with Comments by American Law Institute; National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws
Call Number: Reserve KF879 .A15 U55 also available on Westlaw
Publication Date: 1972 Updated periodically

Uniform Commercial Code
Legal Information Institute, Cornell University Law School

UCC Drafts & Revisions

Note: Uniform Commercial Code. Various draft versions and final acts are available on the Uniform Law Commission web site.

Uniform Commercial Code Drafts by Elizabeth S. Kelly (Compiled by)
Call Number: KF879.518 .A15 1984 also available on HeinOnline (American Law Institute Library)
ISBN: 0837712351
Publication Date: 1984
Uniform Commercial Code Confidential Drafts by Elizabeth S. Kelly (Compiled by); Ann Puckett (Compiled by)
Call Number: KF879.527 .A15 1995 also available on HeinOnline (American Law Institute Library)
ISBN: 0837712416
Publication Date: 1995
PEB Study Group Uniform Commercial Code Article 2: Preliminary Report by PEB Study Group Uniform Commercial Code Article 2
Call Number: KF915.Z95 P45 1990
Publication Date: 1990
Uniform Commercial Code. Revised Article 2, Sales: Council Draft by American Law Institute; National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws
Call Number: KF915 .Z95 U55x 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Uniform Commercial Code, (new) revised article 2 : sales. Members consultative group draft (March 1, 2000) by American Law Institute; National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws
Call Number: KF912.2342 .A15 2000x
Publication Date: 2000

Cases

Sources of Cases Construing the Uniform Commercial Code

Uniform commercial Code, Case Digest by John William Willis
Call Number: KF880.3 .U53
Publication Date: 1976 Updated periodically

Lexis This link opens in a new window
The UCC Reporter - Digest available on Lexis Advance is a leading source for researching issues under the UCC. Comprising Volumes 6 through 6R of Bender's Uniform Commercial Code Service, Reporter-Digest.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Uniform Commercial Code Cases & Administrative Materials available on Westlaw contains UCC cases, plus various administrative documents (AG opinions, federal agency opinions and commentary. Coverage begins with 1898.

Commentary on the UCC & Sales Law - Texts

A Transactional Guide to the Uniform Commercial Code by Richard M. Alderman, Richard F. Dole
Call Number: KF890 .H39 1983
ISBN: 0831804009
Publication Date: 2nd ed., 1983
Article 2: [Uniform Commercial Code] by Keith J. Halleland, Thomas A. Archbold et al.
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 1990 no.680
Publication Date: 1990
ABCs of the UCC Article 2 by Henry D. Gabriel
Call Number: KF915.Z95 .G33 2013
ISBN: 9781627222426
Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2013
Also available online via Bloomberg Law (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
Uniform Commercial Code Series by Hawkland, William D.
Call Number: KF875.99 .H39x, also available on Westlaw
Publication Date: 2010. Updated periodically.
Lawrence's Anderson on the Uniform Commercial Code by Lawrence, Lary
Call Number: KF879.514.A53 1981, also available on Westlaw
Publication Date: 3rd ed., 1981. Updated periodically.
The Law of Sales Under the Uniform Commercial Code by George I. Wallach
Call Number: KF915 .H45
ISBN: 0791312127
Publication Date: 1992. Updated periodically
Sales and Leases of Goods in a Nutshell by Anne Lawton
Call Number: E-book access via West Academic Study Aids
ISBN: 9781685611132
Publication Date: 5th ed., 2023
Access to e-book version limited to U of M Law students, faculty, and staff.
Print copy available on Reserve KF915.Z9 S7 2023
Uniform Commercial Code in a Nutshell by Bradford Stone, Kristen David Adams
Call Number: E-book access via West Academic Study Aids
ISBN: 9781685614751
Publication Date: 9th ed., 2023
Access to e-book version limited to U of M Law students, faculty, and staff.
Print copy available on Reserve KF889 .S76x 2023
Uniform Commercial Code (Hornbook Series) by James J. White and Robert S. Summers
Call Number: E-book access via West Academic Study Aids
ISBN: 9781683285205
Publication Date: 7th ed., 2022
Access to e-book version limited to U of M Law students, faculty, and staff.
Print copy available on Reserve KF890 .W45 2022
Williston on Sales by Samuel Williston 1861- 1963; Deborah L. Nelson & Jennifer L. Howica
Call Number: KF915 .W5 1994
Publication Date: 5th ed. 1994 Updated periodically
Uniform Commercial Code: Local Code Variations by William D. Hawkland
Call Number: KF879.A15 U545x
Publication Date: 2008 Updated periodically

Commentary on the UCC & Sales Law - Journals

Many general legal periodicals contain articles on the UCC and sales law. The legal periodical indexes and databases below can be searched to retrieve articles covering the UCC and the law of sales.

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes 800+ legal periodicals, law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, government publications and books, (dates of coverage vary but begin no earlier than 1980 for periodicals and 1993 for books).
Law Journal Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
This collection contains more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date.
Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law provides rich core collections of U.S. primary resources (case law, statutes, and administrative law materials); secondary resources (legal news, treatises, and other texts) and practice-oriented publications and tools. Its Dockets Search tool covers Federal, state and selected international courts. Other tools include Trackers for monitoring developments in various practice areas; Litigation Analytics for companies, law firms, judges and attorneys; Practical Guidance publications (sample forms, checklists, worksheets, timelines, etc.) covering various topics and practice areas, and State Law Chart Builders. Bloomberg Law also offers a Business Intelligence practice center with resources for researching company and market information, business information and news. Note: Bloomberg Law login credentials required. U of M Law School students, staff & faculty contact Law Library Reference Office for assistance.
Lexis This link opens in a new window
Legal research database available to UMN Law School students and faculty only. A searchable directory of online sources available in Lexis Advance is here: http://w3.nexis.com/sources/
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive legal research system containing primary and secondary law sources and more. Available to U of M Law School students and law faculty only.