Federal Administrative Law Research Guide

"ACUS is an independent federal agency charged with convening expert representatives from the public and private sectors to recommend improvements to administrative process and procedure." The ACUS website contains various publications, documents and other resources focused on improving administrative agency rulemaking and dispute resolution policies and practices.

"This article briefly examines 19th-century administrative law and its publication and identifies some of the issues facing researchers. After reviewing early attempts to help provide access to regulatory documents, this article offers suggestions for modern researchers faced with this difficult, but not impossible, research." Article includes, Appendix: Compilations of Departmental Regulations, pre-GPO."
Legal Reference Services Quarterly, 37:3-4, 257-272.

An excellent quick reference source for federal administrative law research. Provides links to resources for locating federal agencies, major federal administrative and rulemaking laws, sources for researching regulations and other agency documents, and sources for researching agency orders, decisions, inerpretations, and letters. Also links to U.S. Supreme Court opinions on federal administrative law and to selected websites on federal administrative.law.

The "official handbook" and basic reference source for information covering all branches of the Federal government. Coverage of all types/levels of government agencies. Helpful tools include a table of "Commonly Used Agency Acronyms", and a "History of Agency Organizational Changes: Federal Agencies, Terminated, Transferred or Changed in Name Subsequent to March 4, 1933." Print edition available in Law Library Reference AE2.108/2: and other locations.

(Center for Effective Government) The Regulatory Resource Center includes a policy library that provides lots of helpful information about how the regulatory process works. It also includes a Regulatory Tools section covering tools (peer review, cost-benefit analysis, federal advisory committees, risk assessment) used by regulatory decision makers. The library also includes a glossary and References section with links to relevant primary source documents (federal laws, executive orders, government reports, OMB documents, and Center for Effective Government reports).

This video tutorial from 2013 of a workshop offered by the Office of the Federal Register is available on the National Archives website. (45 min., YouTube embedded video).

This HeinOnline "Tip of the Week" discusses what preambles to rules are and how to locate them. Examples using various methods (keyword, CFR citation, docket no., agency name) are provided. It also includes a video demonstration of the preamble search process using HeinOnline.

(ABA Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice and Florida State University College of Law) This archive includes: 1941 Attorney General's Report on the APA; 1947 Attorney General's Manual on the APA; Recommendations of the Administrative Conference of the U.S.; ACUS: A Bibliography, 1968-1995+.

The website for the American Bar Association's Section of Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice includes a policy section with information on ABA and Section policy positions and news and information about the Section and its various committees.

(CALI lesson, completion time 30-45 minutes)

(CALI lesson, completion time 55 minutes)

(CALI lesson, completion time 2-3 hours)

(CALI lesson, completion time 30 minutes)

(CALI lesson, completion time 20 minutes)

A blog by the ABA Section of Administrative Law & Regulatory Practice, includes Twitter feed.

This blog by the Office of the Federal Register, aims to "give an insider's view of FederalRegister.gov (FR 2.0). Includes news updates about the FederalRegister.gov website and provides a forum for discussion about other OFR publications and services on FDsys.gov, OFR.gov and Archives.gov.

Features blog posts selected by LexBlog Network editors from over 50 blogs on topics related to administrative law.

(Administraive Codes and Registers, ACR)
Created to help the members of the ACR share information about administrative rulemaking processes as well as broader administrative law issues.

(Justia) Lists and ranks approximately 39 blogs related to administrative law.