Where to Start - Encyclopedia Articles, Study Aids, and Research Guides - International Law & Regulation - POL 8409 - Research Guides at University of Minnesota Law Library

Top Databases for International Legal Research - To Find Sources Beyond Those Released by the Competition

Google (for legal research guides)
[area of law] research guide OR
[foreign country] law research guide

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive work covering the central and essential topics in international law. This online version of the original the classic print set is continually updated. Contains over 1,000 articles. New material is added quarterly.

Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law
Providing original high-level analysis of European Union (EU) law by specialized distinguished contributors, articles from this encyclopedia address a focused range of subjects that seek to provide the best coverage of the essence, character, development, and history of European Union law. The articles will define and cover the basis and foundations of European Union law, as well as analyzing and explaining legal concepts.
West Academic Study Aids
Access available IN THE LAW BUILDING ONLY (only law school students, faculty, and staff can access this database remotely).

A wide range of areas and subjects of law are covered from 1L courses such as Civil Procedure and Legal Research & Writing, to 2L & 3L courses such as Evidence and Tax. Titles focused on specialized skills and areas of the law such as interview and counseling skills, appellate advocacy, and consumer law are also provided. Other titles covering topics such as academic success in law school, bar exam preparation, and career success advice are also available.