Reproductive Rights & Justice: An American History (HIST 4011)

From the "Cases" menu you can narrow your search by jurisdiction(s), e.g. state cases or federal cases or to specific courts (e.g. federal circuits or state courts).: Click on the "Advanced" link to the right of the search bar to access the Advanced Search template which provides various options for search cases, including party name, boolean searching, etc. Note: dates of coverage vary by court. For additional information on searching case law on Westlaw Campus Research, consult the Westlaw Precision Quick Reference Guides in the Case Law Research section of Westlaw's Training & Support website.

American Law Reports (ALR) organize, summarize, and analyze pertinent federal and state caselaw on particular legal issues. Issues include those involving statutory and common law, practice and procedure, and rules and regulations. Each article reviews the cases discussing the relevant point of law. The articles also contain research references."

The West Key Number System provides comprehensive indexing of federal and state case law. West attorney editors have read, summarized and classified case law by topic and subtopics that represent specific points of law. Each specific point of law is assigned a unique number, called a Key Number. When you click a Key Number link, you will retrieve the case headnotes classified to that particular Key Number.

If instead you want to search the text of the case headnotes directly, use the West Key Number Headnotes search box at the top of the page.

In the century before the creation of the Supreme Court of the United States, the British Privy Council heard appeals from the 13 colonies that became the United States and from the other ‘American’ colonies in Canada and the Caribbean. This catalogue focuses on all currently known colonial cases appealed to the Privy Council from the future United States, a number totaling nearly one-third of the more than 800 heard from the Americas. For the appeals from the 13 colonies, the catalogue provides links to original documents in England and the United States. Most significantly, the site includes images of surviving briefs filed in 54 of these appeals. Known as ‘printed cases’, these briefs provide the ‘reasons’ for the appeals.

The Cornell University Law Library's Trial Pamphlets Collection consists of pamphlets ranging in date from the late 1600s to the late 1800s. Trial pamphlets are contemporary accounts of trials that involved prominent citizens or that dealt with especially controversial or lurid topics.

Presents the images of over 420 separately published trial narratives from the Harvard Law School Library's extensive trial collections.

When viewing a case in Westlaw, to access the briefs and other case filings click on the "Filings" tab (top left side of page). For additional information on searching case law on Westlaw Campus Research, consult the Westlaw Precision Quick Reference Guides in the Case Law Research section of Westlaw's Training & Support website.

Westlaw's Dockets Search contains docket information on cases filed in State Courts, U.S. District Courts, U.S. Courts of Appeal, U.S. Bankruptcy Courts and the U.S. Supreme Court. Coverage and information provided varies by court.

The Court's web site contains docket, calendar and other information for cases pending before the court. Oral argument transcripts are available from as early as 1969. Audio of oral arguments are also available starting with the 2010 term.

Coverage from 2007 to current term. Includes briefs and other case filings, and are arranged by term. Select the term and then click on the "Sort by Case Name" link to locate case by name.

Court Listener's, RECAP Archive is a searchable collection of millions of PACER documents and dockets that were gathered using the RECAP Extensions for Firefox and Chrome. PACER is the government-run system where nearly every legal document is filed from federal cases. The archive also includes every free PACER opinion. Users can search and download millions of PACER documents from the archive including those that were originally scanned PDFs, and converted to text.

Court Listener's, RECAP Archive is a searchable collection of millions of PACER documents and dockets that were gathered using the RECAP Extensions for Firefox and Chrome. PACER is the government-run system where nearly every legal document is filed from federal cases. The archive also includes every free PACER opinion. Users can search and download millions of PACER documents from the archive including those that were originally scanned PDFs, and converted to text.