Research Guides: Reproductive Rights & Justice: An American History (HIST 4011): Administrative Agency Materials

Federal Administrative Agency Materials

Consult the Law Library's Federal Administrative Law Research Guide for a detailed discussion of legal research resources. Important databases for federal administrative law research include:

Federal Register Collection / Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new window
The Federal Register is updated on a daily basis. Its coverage begins from inception (1936). Also includes the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) from inception (1938), Official US Bulletin (1917-1919), U.S. Government Manual from inception (1935), Daily and Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents from inception (1965).
eCFR - Electronic Code of Federal Regulations This link opens in a new window
The Electronic Code of Federal Regulations (eCFR) provides a way of exploring the Code of Federal Regulations as it exists today and at points in time back to January 2017.

Federal Administrative Decisions & Guidance (Westlaw)
Contains federal agency administrative decisions and guidance documents. Includes executive branch and independent agencies and offices. Coverage varies by agency.

United States Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline library features reports, decisions, and records, and official case law of some of the most important U.S. Federal Agencies such as: The Federal Communications Commission (FCC), the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). It also includes over 65 GPO best selling legal titles.
ProQuest Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new window
Regulatory Insight offers federal administrative law (regulatory) histories for individual federal statutes and Executive Orders. The regulatory histories consist of pertinent Federal Register documents (notices, proposed rules, final rules and presidential documents) in PDF & HTML formats. The scope of coverage is evolving (consult the product libguide at: http://proquest.libguides.com/reginsight/about for current coverage). The Advanced Search option allows users to limit and filter searches in various ways. The Search by Number option allows users to search by various citations including: Federal Register, CFR, Public Law, Statutes at Large, U.S. Code, RIN and Agency Docket numbers and citations. Consult the ProQuest Regulatory Insight LibGuide http://proquest.libguides.com/reginsight for more information.