Research Guides: Reproductive Rights & Justice: An American History (HIST 4011): Finding Books

Beyond Libraries Search

In addition to searching the University Libraries catalog (Libraries Search), there are several additional sources (listed below) that may help in locating legal texts such as treatises and monographs. See the Subject Headings page for some suggested subject search headings to use.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Find books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. This covers all subject areas. Coverage: 2150 BC - present.. Contact the Law Library's Interlibrary Loan Service to request items from other libraries.
Google Books (Advanced Search Template) This link opens in a new window
Google Books allows users to search within the full text of books. However, for books that are still under copyright, the viewable text is typically limited to small portions where the search terms appear (either a "Snippet View" or the "Sample Pages View." The Advanced Search template provides additional search functionality and several helpful search options.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800 - 1926 This link opens in a new window
A full-text digital image archive of 22,000 legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Browse feature (by author or title) and full-text search engine provided.
Rise of American Law ROAL (Westlaw) This link opens in a new window
Rise of American Law (ROAL) is a Westlaw database containing over 400 historic, 19th and 20th century legal texts, such as treatises, and earlier editions of legal encyclopedias (American Jurisprudence and Corpus Juris, and legal dictionaries, including the first three editions of Black's Law Dictionary. It also includes a number of foreign law materials.
Women and the Law (Peggy) This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline database contains a,"unique collection of materials bringing together thousands of books, biographies, and periodicals dedicated to women’s roles in society and the law over the past 200 years. Also included are titles from Emory University Law School’s Feminism and Legal Theory Project which provide a platform to view the effect of law and culture on the female gender.features contemporary and historical works related to women's roles in society and the law."
Legal Classics Library (HeinOnline) This link opens in a new window
Includes over 4,500 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Story, Bentham, Blackstone, Holdsworth, Maine, Maitland, Pollock, Cardozo, and more. The collection focuses on constitutional law, comparative law, political science and other classic topics.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
"In the HathiTrust Digital Library collection, you can find titles on everything from African History, Economics, and French Literature to Solar Energy, Public Health, and materials published in more than 400 languages. The digital library of 18+ million digitized items brings together the collections of more than 60 academic and research libraries from across North America and other countries."