Research Guides: Federal Tax Law Research: Newsletters, Journals & Indexes

Journals & Newsletters

Journals & Newsletters (Selected)

Specialized Legal Research by Penny A. Hazelton (Editor)
Call Number: Reference Office KF240 .S631x
ISBN: 9780990313007
Publication Date: 2014 (updated through 2018)
Consult Chapter 3, Appendix 3-3, "Tax Periodicals and Newsletters" for a comprehensive listing.

Tax Notes This link opens in a new window
Tax Notes features daily news and weekly magazine publications published by Tax Analyst. It also offers primary source tax materials in its Federal Tax Research Library and Worldwide Tax Treaties collection. The Library's subscription includes these news publications:: Tax Notes Today Federal, Tax Notes Federal Magazine, Tax Notes Today State, Tax Notes State Magazine, Tax Notes Today International, Tax Notes International Magazine, Exempt Organizations Expert, FATCA Expert, Tax Practice Expert, BEPS Expert, Transfer Pricing Expert and Nexus Tracker.
NOTE: Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using University of Minnesota e-mail addresses at the following link: http://login.ezproxy.lib.umn.edu/login?url=http://www.taxnotes.com. Click on the SIGN IN link in the upper right-hand corner. Enter your e-mail address and click NEXT. Click on the Register Here link and fill in the required fields. Once you have registered, you must access the resource at https://www.taxnotes.com by clicking the SIGN IN link and entering your e-mail address and password. Click on the orange PUBLICATIONS tab and select a title.

Corporate Taxation (formerly, Journal of Corporate Taxation).
Boston: Warren, Gorham & Lamont, 1974- [Available on Checkpoint, Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research]

Florida Tax Review.
Buffalo, NY: Tax Analysts, 1992- [Available on HeinOnline, Lexis Advance, Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research]

The Journal of Taxation.
New York: Journal of Taxation, 1954- [Available on Checkpoint, Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research]

Taxes: The Tax Magazine.
Chicago: CCH, 1923- [Available on Cheetah]

Tax Law Review.
New York City, NY: New York University School of Law, 1945- [Available on HeinOnline, Lexis Advance, Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research]

The Tax Lawyer: Bulletin of the Section of Taxation, American Bar Association.
Washington, D.C.: The Section, c1967- [Available on HeinOnline, Lexis Advance, Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research]

Virginia Tax Review.
Charlottesville, VA. Virginia Tax Review Ass'n: 1981- [Print subscription canceled 2014; Available on HeinOnline, Lexis Advance, Westlaw & WestlawNext Campus Research]

CQ Roll Call Washington Tax Briefing (Westlaw)
Available on Westlaw. Congressional Quarterly's Roll Call Washington Tax Briefing provides up to the minute information on developments in the Tax topical areas starting in 2014.

Periodical Indexes

Federal Tax Articles: Income, Estate, Gift, Excise, Employment Taxes. CCH, New York, 1968- Looseleaf KF 6335.A6 C57. Coverage from 1954-1978 only.

Index to Federal Tax Articles [Goldstein]. Looseleaf Services KF6335 .A6 C58.
Coverage is from 1974 - 2004. This multi-volume index includes a topical index, author index and user's guide. Includes coverage of federal income tax, estate tax, and gift tax articles. Also includes coverage of articles focused on federal tax policy in legal, accounting, and economics journals.

The two indexes listed above cover federal taxation in particular, but you can also use the general legal periodicals indexes below:

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books This link opens in a new window
Coverage includes 800+ legal periodicals, law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, government publications and books, (dates of coverage vary but begin no earlier than 1980 for periodicals and 1993 for books).
CILP - Current Index to Legal Periodicals This link opens in a new window
This weekly service indexes 500+ legal periodicals into over 100 subject headings. In addition to the subject index, it lists the table of contents for each new journal issue covered. Weekly issues archived back to 1999 may be browsed or downloaded.