Federal Tax Law Research

For general information on federal legislative history, please review the following guide. 

The following are compilations of federal tax legislative histories:

• A Guide and Analytical Index to the Internal Revenue Acts of the United States, 1909-1950: Legislative Histories, Laws, and Administrative Documents 

  Also available in print at TC Law Library General Collection (KF6275.8 1979x Index )
• Seidman's Legislative History of Federal Income Tax Laws, 1938-1861 

  more...
• Legislative History of Federal Income and Excess Profits Tax Laws, 1953-1939 

  more...
• The Internal Revenue Code of 1954: Bill H.R. 8300, an Act to Revise the Internal Revenue Laws: The Bill in its Various Forms as Considered by the 83rd Congress, 2d Session 

  more...
• Internal Revenue Acts of the United States: Revenue Acts of 1953-1972 with Legislative Histories, Laws and Congressional Documents 

  more...
• Internal Revenue Acts of the United States, 1950-1951: Legislative Histories, Laws, and Administrative Documents 

  more...
• Tax Reform 1984: A Legislative History of the Tax Reform Act of 1984: The Law, Reports, Hearings, Debates, and Related Documents 

  more...
• Tax Reform 1986: A Legislative History of the Tax Reform Act of 1986: The Law, Reports, Hearings, Debates, and Related Documents 

  more...
• Protecting Americans from Tax Hikes Act of 2015: A Legislative History of Public Law No. 114-113 Division Q 
• Tax Foundation Archive Publications 

  This collection provides convenient access to the complete archive of the Tax Foundation's publications, which contain information on taxation, fiscal policy, finance and more. No other fiscal organization in the country enjoys the respect and reputation for objectivity earned by the Tax Foundation.
• Taxation & Economic Reform in America Parts I & II 

  This historical archive contains thousands of volumes and millions of pages of legislative history materials and other documents. It includes the complete Carlton Fox Collection which contains nearly 42 years of historical legislation related to the internal revenue laws from 1909-1950. It includes more than 100 other legislative histories related to taxation, economic reform, and stimulus plans.