Teaching Tools for Law School Faculty

This separate Law Library guide collects books, articles, and websites about remote and online teaching. It covers technology and pedagogy, emphasizing material about teaching law and resources available at the University of Minnesota.

This paper introduces a variety of ways in which technology can be integrated into everyday law teaching practice to enhance accessibility and inclusion for students with different abilities and learning styles. Many of these techniques do not require law teachers to be experts in the use of technology, and some can be integrated into everyday practice with minimal effort.

This article presents the findings from a small-scale trial of interactive technology in teaching law to undergraduate LLB students at a British University.

This memo addresses selected privacy and security concerns presented by online instruction.

The article outlines the lessons about teaching in the classroom learned from the CALI authoring process.

Professor Galves proposes that "more law professors should teach law in a manner that is familiar to the way in which law students increasingly are accustomed to receiving information in society, at home, and at school –- through visual technology." He goes on to detail his own use of technology in the classroom.

This annotated bibliography covers articles on the the impact of computer technology on law schools and legal education from 1970 to 2001.

"To help legal educators locate materials that inform and enrich their teaching and writing, Professor Goldman offers an updated annotated bibliography of articles, commentaries, conference papers, essays, books, and book chapters that examine the impact of technology on legal education."

This article addresses the elements of a blended course, reasons for adopting this approach in legal education, and principles that should guide design of a blended course.

This article examines the way technology can assist in legal education reformanizations. The rest of the article provides examples of how technology can facilitate some of those reforms, including assessment, instructional models, and instructional materials.

"This articles suggests strategies for using, and knowing when not to use, popular classroom technologies," and recommends "a hybrid approach to classroom technology that blends traditional tools with new, digital ones in ways that better match our methods with the learning outcomes we seek."

The author identifies practical lessons she has learned relating to: "the kinds of skills that can most effectively be taught online; personnel requirements for developing and offering online courses; the pros and cons of asynchronous online formats; differing online social norms of behavior; optimum class size for online delivery; and, access and administration issues."

"The Article states fourteen principles for slide or slide sequence design, provides the arguments from the literature for and against them, and explains the techniques by which the author implements them. It argues that PowerPoint is effective for eight purposes: (1) providing high-level overviews, (2) explaining concepts, (3) listing sets of rules or possibilities, (4) analyzing statutory or other language, (5) comparing statutes, rules, and concepts, (6) showing physical manifestations of the legal system such as documents or websites, (7) diagramming concepts, relationships, and transactions, and (8) supporting discussions by displaying the assumptions on which the discussions are based."

This brief essay summarizes the author's use of podcast summaries and quizzes and treasure hunts to reinforce learning in doctrinal classes.

This article "introduces several examples of how to use a number of today's technologies--both inside the classroom and outside the classroom--in the hopes of initiating further exploration into effective means of using technology to assess student learning at the course level."

"This article examines how live websites can be used to create engaging and holistic simulations that tie together doctrine, theory, skills, and values in ways impossible to achieve with the case method."

This article provides an overview of online course formats, and provides an overview of the opportunities and challenges students with ADHD may have in the online learning environment. It concludes with recommendations regarding how to best support students with ADHD in online learning environments.

This article includes an overview of some of the learning technologies employed in law schools.

The author describes the technological experience and abilities of new law faculty and the resulting need for them to communicate their skills to more senior faculty. He views new faculty as a catalyst for necessary change.

The author "urges law teachers to use the opportunity presented by the shift to remote education to incorporate problems and simulations as an effective way to motivate students to prepare for class, to expose them to transactional practice skills, and to effectively teach key doctrinal concepts."

"This brief guide to online teaching offers assistance in selecting between the synchronous and asynchronous online format, before proceeding to a brief step-by-step guide on the design elements of both asynchronous and synchronous online courses. The focus remains on content delivery and student engagement, hallmark characteristics of online teaching."

This essay addresses the author's shift to a blended learning environment.

"This article focuses solely on asynchronous and not synchronous, online courses that are part of an ABA approved law school curriculum. Synchronous learning requires students and teachers to be online at the same time because the learning activities happen at set times, while asynchronous classes give students a time frame to complete the learning activities on their own.15 While some of the discussion may be useful as applied to a synchronous online course, the course development and pedagogy of an asynchronous course differs significantly."

This article addresses how flipped classrooms can contribute to the students' development of analytical skills necessary for solving legal problems, and offers practical suggestions for moving doctrinal coverage online through the use of instructional videos.

This guide maintained by the University of Minnesota Center for Educational Innovation highlights some of the most helpful and current resources about ChatGPT and artificial intelligence.

This guide curated by the Center for Educational Innovation provides a more comprehensive list of teaching resources about ChatGPT and artificial intelligence, with a focus on how these technologies impact assessment strategies.