Research Guides: Vis Moot 2019: Substantive Issues (International Commercial Sales Law)

Legal Framework for Substantive Issues

Legal Framework for Procedural Issues:

The contract between the parties (see the 2019 Problem)
The CISG
The UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts
Incoterms

Scholarly Commentary on International Sales (in general) and the CISG, the Unidroit Principles, and Incoterms (in particular)

Start your research in the books available on the databases linked below. For the 2019 problem, you should learn about and become an expert in all of the relevant CISG articles, UNIDROIT Principles, and Incoterms (DDP). As you are reading, note the cases that are repeatedly cited in the scholarly material.

Law Library Reserve Collection
I've identified several books about international sales law, the CISG, the UNIDROIT Principles, and the Incoterms. Several of these books are also available as ebooks.
PACE's CISG Database - Advisory Council Opinions
The purpose of the CISG Advisory Council is to issue opinions on the interpretation and application of the CISG.
PACE's CISG Database - Annotated Text page
Annotates every article of the CISG, which means it provides not just the text but also all interpretations of that articles by the drafters of the CISG, scholars, courts and arbitral tribunals.

Cases and Awards interpreting the Law

After you've identified the relevant CISG articles and UNIDROIT Principles, find the cases that interpret those articles through one of the links below - ESPECIALLY THE UNCITRAL DIGEST ON THE CISG!!

NOTE: the books (or ebooks) listed in the Law Library Reserve Collection section will also provide case names and analysis.

CISG - CLOUT Database
Gathers court decisions and arbitral awards related to all UNCITRAL texts including the CISG.
CISG - Pace's Annotated CISG page
The most efficient way to find relevant cases on Pace's CISG database is by CISG article number.
CISG - Pace's Case Database
You can search for cases by CISG article number or keyword on Pace's Case Database.
CISG - UNCITRAL's 2016 Digest of Cases
UNCITRAL organizes the cases (judicial decisions and arbitral awards) that interpret each article of the CISG. Many of the cases are given a "CLOUT" number (see above to access the CLOUT database).
CISG - UNILEX database for CISG cases - organized by CISG Article number
The UNILEX database organizes cases by CISG article number or subject.
CISG - UNILEX database for CISG cases - organized by Subject
The UNILEX database organizes cases by CISG subject or article number.
UNIDROIT - UNILEX database for UNIDROIT cases - organized by subject
The UNILEX database organizes cases by subject or UNIDROIT article number.
UNIDROIT - UNILEX database for UNIDROIT cases - organized by UNIDROIT Article number
The UNILEX database organizes cases by UNIDROIT article number or subject.