Research Guides: Case Records & Briefs Research Guide: Circuit, District and Other Federal Courts

Online Sources

Subscription & Fee-Based Sources

Bloomberg Law This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Law's Dockets collection contains records and briefs from a variety of federal courts. Coverage varies by court (8th Circuit courts begin around 1989/1990).
Lexis This link opens in a new window
Lexis offers a Federal Briefs and Motions Combined collection that contains briefs and motions in cases from a variety of federal courts, including: the U.S. Supreme Court, Court of Federal Claims, and all federal circuit, district and bankruptcy courts. Coverage is from 2000 to current.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Selected coverage begins as early as 1972 (varies by circuit, 8th Circuit coverage begins with 1980). Selected trial court transcripts & oral argument transcripts are available in the Trial Transcripts & Oral Arguments database on Westlaw.
Making of Modern Law: Landmark Records and Briefs of the U.S. Appeals Courts This link opens in a new window
Records and briefs documents from U.S. Circuit Court cases from 1891 - 1980. Documents include: party and amicus briefs, appendices, memoranda, petitions, plaintiff statements, transcripts, and more.

Open Access Sources

Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse
The University of Michigan Law School's Civil Rights Litigation Clearinghouse is a growing collection of case documents and other information about civil rights cases in over 20 selected case categories across the United States. Coverage includes case filings and transcripts from state and federal courts at all levels (trial to highest appellate).

8th Circuit Microform & Print

Microform Collection

1984 /1985 term and 1991/1992 - 1992/1993 terms.
Location: Storage, Basement (request at Circulation Desk or Reference Office)
Call number: Microfiche KF112 8th.9 U55x. (arranged by case docket number)

Print Collection

Storage (smaller room)
Limited and scattered holdings. Arranged by Federal Reporter volume, starting with 108 F. 985 through 514 F. 2d.

Additional Research Guides & Finding Aids

A Union List of Appellate Court Records and Briefs: Federal and State by Michael Whiteman, Peter Scott Campbell
Call Number: Reference Office KF105.9 .W49 2017 (Available online see below)
ISBN: 9780837740652
Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2017
The Union List is also available online on HeinOnline. An invaluable resource for locating federal and state appellate court records and briefs. Especially hard to find records that may not be available from online sources.

Records of the Judicial Branch
The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is a depository for Federal court documents from various hearings and trials. A limited number of documents are available online. An online catalog is available to search all records, locate and order copies of specific items.
National Archives Court Records
A NARA Guide to locating court records.
Records of U.S. District and Other Courts in Minnesota 1858-1979 (Record Group 21.25)
Includes Circuit and District Court records held at the Kansas City and Chicago National Archives facilities.
National Archives at Kansas City
Contact information, research guides, finding aids, and information helpful to visiting researchers.
National Archives at Chicago
Contact information, research guides, finding aids, and information helpful to visiting researchers.