Find books, journals, articles, maps, music scores, sound recordings, films, theses/dissertations, machine-readable data files, and any other materials available in libraries worldwide. This covers all subject areas. Coverage: 2150 BC - present.. Contact the Law Library's Interlibrary Loan Service to request items from other libraries.
Practice Treatises, Books, & General Sources on U.S. Immigration Law
Also available online via WestlawNext (U of M Law faculty, student & staff only). In-depth analyses of the law and procedures in cases arising under immigration laws. Includes the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952, as amended and interpreted to date; Immigration Act of 1990; Technical Corrections Amendments Act of 1994; the Immigration Reform and Control Act (IRCA); and the Immigration Marriage Fraud Amendment Act of 1986. Comprehensive coverage of legislation and changes in the H-1B nonimmigrant temporary worker program. Available on WestlawNext
Chapter 8 on Immigration Law provides a good background about this subject and a comprehensive listing of primary and secondary sources
Essentials of Immigration Law by Richard A Boswell
Call Number: KF4819 .B67x 2009
Publication Date: 2009
Immigration Procedures Handbook by Austin T. Fragomen Jr., Careen Shannon, Daniel Montalvo
Call Number: KF4819 .I455
Representing Clients in Immigration Court by Catholic Legal Immigration Network Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Reserve KF337.5.I45 R48x 2013
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Covers elements of immigration court proceedings and the options available to immigrant clients: Grounds of Deportability; Grounds of Inadmissibility; Contesting Removability; Adjustment of Status; Waivers of Inadmissibility and Deportability in Removal Proceedings; Cancellation of Removal; Voluntary Departure; Administrative and Judicial Review of Removal Orders
The manual is a comprehensive guide that sets forth uniform procedures, recommendations, and requirements for practice before the Immigration Courts. Published by the Office of the Chief Immigration Judge (OCIJ) which is part of the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR)
Covers important provisions of the Illegal Immigration Reform and Immigrant Responsibility Act (IIRAIRA), the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act (AEDPA), and the Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act (Welfare Act)
Comprehensive survey of the basic elements of asylum law, includes a thorough overview of asylum procedure, complete with practice tips for preparing and presenting an asylum claim. Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC) is a national non-profit resource center that provides legal trainings, educational materials, and advocacy to advance immigrant rights.
Written for both immigration and criminal law practitioners, provides complete coverage of relevant laws, emerging issues, practical guidance, and tactical considerations. Covers categories of criminal convictions having immigration consequences (crimes of moral turpitude, drug-trafficking, aggravated felonies); procedure, strategies, and issues involved in the representation of the noncitizen; analysis of all aspects of conviction or other formal contact with the criminal justice system; postconviction remedies; implications of criminal convictions for legalization, asylum, voluntary departure, and naturalization; sample pleadings and forms. Kept up to date.