Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Intellectual Property Research

intellectual property copyright patents trademarks

Introduction

This guide provides information about sources available at the University of Minnesota Law Library and on the Internet about Intellectual Property in general, and about Copyright, Patents and Trademarks. For information on searching patents, users should consult our guide to Patent Searching Resources. Another useful resource is the University of Minnesota Libraries guide, SELECTED RESOURCES FOR: PATENTS

Patent filed in 1849 by Abraham Lincoln for "Buoying Vessels over Shoals." Library of Congress, Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana. Complete patent application available from the Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana.

Patent filed in 1849 by Abraham Lincoln for "Buoying Vessels over Shoals." Library of Congress, Rare Book and Special Collections Division,
Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana. Complete patent application available from the 
Alfred Whital Stern Collection of Lincolniana.

Accessing Databases: access to some of the databases in this guide is restricted to members affiliated with the Law School or the University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus. Please see our Databases Directory for further information on access privileges.

 

University of Minnesota Law Library
Reference Desk: 612-625-4309 • Circulation Desk: 612-625-4300 • Contact Us