Periodicals are an excellent source for information about human rights. They are also useful for locating citations to treaties, cases and other documents.
Periodicals
The Law Library has numerous periodicals on international human rights law. To find the titles of these periodicals, search MNCAT with subject headings such as:
Minorities -- Legal status, laws, etc. -- Periodicals
Human rights -- Periodicals
Human rights -- [region or country] -- Periodicals
Women's rights -- Periodicals
Once you identify a relevant periodical, look for an index either specific to the publication, such as an annual end-of-the-year index, or a broader periodical index that covers the periodical you need. MNCAT does not contain article titles.
Periodical Indexes
LegalTrac is available within Mondale Hall via the Law School Network and in the Law Library via public workstations. Law School faculty and students may access LegalTrac from outside Mondale Hall. LegalTrac is also available under the name, Legal Resource Index via these databases: LexisNexis Academic, LexisNexis and Westlaw. The Libary's subscription to the hardcopy version which is titled Current Law Index (Ref. K33.C87) was canceled in 2011.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books (ILP) is available throughout Mondale Hall via the Law School Network and at public workstations in the Law Library. Law School faculty and students may access ILP from outside Mondale Hall. ILP is also available on Westlaw. The Library's subscription to the hardcopy version of ILP (Ref. K33.I54) was canceled in 2011.
PAIS International. Coverage dates 1972 - present (abstracts from 1985 - present). For earlier dates use PAIS Archive 1915 - 1976. Provides broad coverage of social science issues worldwide. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters.
Social Sciences Citatation Index, included in Web of Science.
GenderWatch. Coverage: 1970's to present. A full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Women's Studies International . Coverage: 1972 - present, updated semi-annually. A compilation of ten databases covering feminist writings in journal articles, books, anthology chapters, and reports.