Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Federal Legislative History Research

Congressional Committee Reports

Identifying Current & Former Standing Committees of Congress

A useful resource for identifying standing, House, Joint & Senate committees is the listing, Standing Committees of Congress: 1789 to Present, published in July, 2008 and compiled by Richard J. McKinney. It includes information on predecessor and successor committees, committee names, and creating authorization information for current standing committees.

Electronic Sources

ProQuest Congressional 
Indexing and searchable PDFs of committee reports from 1789 - current
Abstract records from 1970 - current

United States Congressional Serial Set - Digital Edition (Readex) 
Contains full-text Senate and House reports published in the Serial Set from the vol. 1, 15th Cong. (1817) - vol. 13384, 96th Cong. 2nd. Sess. (1980).

Lexis Advance (UM Law only)
Full text of House and Senate Committee Reports.   "A report details the bill's progress in committee, including how the bill was amended, what amendments were adopted or rejected, the estimated cost of programs proposed in the legislation, and minority and majority opinions. Coverage from 2000 through current.  Access path:  Browse > Sources > By Category > Statutes & Legislation > Category: Legislative Histories > Committee Reports.

WestlawNext (UM Law only)
U.S. Code Congressional & Administrative News: Legislative History Reports. This database contains the full text of all committee reports from 1948.  Committee reports for bills that did not become law, begin with 1990.

Congress.gov 
Provides the full-text of congressional committee reports beginning with the 104th Congress (1995).

FDsys (U.S. GPO)
Provides the full-text of congressional committee reports beginning with the 104th Congress (1995).

Print & Microform Sources

Congressional Information Service (CIS) Microfiche Set
Contains full-text of committee reports from 1970 - 2012.
Location: Microforms Collection, Rm. 140 on the Plaza level, call no. Mfiche US- Y12:976).
Indexes: Use the ProQuest Congressional database (above) or the CIS Index & Abstracts print volumes in Rm. 140 to locate reports.  Note: the fiche are filed by the CIS Accession number provided in the record.

United States Code, Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN)
USCCAN
 selectively publishes congressional commitee reports on most public laws beginning with the 77th Congress (1941).
Hardcopy Location: Law Library Primary KF48.W45 (Plaza Level)

GPO Print Copies of Committee Reports

To determine whether a print copy of a committee report is available from a library on campus, e.g. Law Library or Government Publications Library, search the University Libraries catalog in MNCAT Discovery.

Congressional Committee Hearings

 

Electronic Sources

ProQuest Congressional - Congressional Hearings Digital Collection 

Full-text committee hearings from as early as 1824 - present (updated monthly). Includes indexing, abstracts and searchable PDFs.  The Library's subscription also includes unpublished Congressional hearings (House 1833 - 1980)  and (Senate 1824 - 1990). 

HeinOnline - U.S. Congressional Documents Collection 

This collection includes searchable PDFs of congressional hearings from as early as the 56th Congress (1900) to the current Congress.  Scroll down list of HeinOnline subscribed libraries and select U.S. Congressional Documents.

Lexis Advance Congressional Hearings (1824-current) (UM Law only)

 Congressional Hearings includes: Retrospective A (1824-1979), containing approximately 73,000 titles and 12.8 million pages, and includes unpublished hearings; Retrospective B (1980-2003), containing approximately 44,000 titles and 11 million pages, including unpublished hearings; Retrospective Collection (2004-2010), containing about 1,500 titles and 300,000 pages per year; Prospective Collection (2011-present), containing about 1,500 titles and 300,000 pages per year. Initial release: Early 2007, ongoing updates; NOTE: The documents in this source are available in PDF only. Therefore, search terms within each document will not display in CITE or KWIC view.  

 Westlaw (UM Law only

USTESTIMONY coverage begins with January 1993 and includes increased coverage from January 1996 to present and selected coverage from 1993 to 1996.

Committee Transcripts and Documents (CONGTMY) contains selected full text documents from Congressional Testimony.  Coverage begins 11/2004.

U.S. Political Transcripts (USPOLTRANS) contains transcripts of oral testimony from selected congressional committee hearings, as well as transcripts of news conferences, press briefings, and political speeches. Coverage begins with February 1994.

U.S. Senate Web Site

Information on upcoming hearings and locating published hearings. Check the web page of the Senate committee or sub-committee of interest to locate hearing information (schedules, witnesses, transcripts and video archive).

U.S. House of Representatives Committees

Check the web page of the House committee or sub-committee of interest to locate hearing information (schedules, witnesses, transcripts and video/audio).

Print & Microform Sources

Congressional Information Service (CIS) Microfiche Set
Contains full-text of committee hearings from 1970 - current.
Location: Microforms Collection, Rm. 140, Call no. Mfiche US- Y12:976).
Indexes: Use the ProQuest Congressional database (above) or the CIS Index & Abstracts print volumes in Rm. 140 to locate reports.  Note: the fiche are filed by the CIS Accession number provided in the record.

CIS U.S. Congressional Committee Hearings (Microfiche)
1833 - 1969 (23 Cong. - 91st Cong.)
Location: Microforms Collection, Rm. 140, Call no. Mfiche Y14/1:
Index: hardcopy index in center island shelves.

CIS Unpublished U.S. House of Representatives Committee Hearings
1833 - 1959
Location: Microfimrs Collection, Rm. 140, Call no. Mfiche KF40 .C54x
Index: hardcopy index in center island shelves.

CIS Unpublished U.S. Senate Committee Hearings
1823 - 1968 (18th Cong. - 90th Cong.)
Location: Microforms Collection, Rm. 140, Call no.Mfiche KF40 .C53x
Index: hardcopy index in center island shelves.

Print Copies of Committee Hearings
To determine whether a print copy of a committee hearing is available from a library on campus, e.g. Law Library or Government Publications Library, search the University Libraries catalog in MNCAT Discovery.


University of Minnesota Law Library
Reference Desk: 612-625-4309 • Circulation Desk: 612-625-4300 • Contact Us