Research Guides: Minnesota Law Research Guide: Legal Encyclopedia & Treatises

Legal Encyclopedia

Dunnell Minnesota Digest: an encyclopedia of Minnesota law
Call Number: Reference and Reference Office KFM5457 .D86 2023 (Available online see below)

Publication Date: 7th ed., 2023 (Updated periodically)

Available online via Lexis Advance. This multi-volume encyclopedia is an excellent starting point for researching issues involving Minnesota law.

Topics/Practice Areas (A - E):
Administrative Law
Appellate Procedure
Attorney-Client Privilege
Bankruptcy
Business Law
Civil Practice
Contracts
Corporations
Criminal Law & Procedure
Debtor & Creditor
Dispute Resolution
Elder Law
Employment & Labor Law
Ethics/Professional Responsibility
Evidence

Topics/Practice Areas (F - W):

Family Law
Immigration Law
Insurance Law
Juvenile Law
Motor Vehicle Accident Law
Non-Profit Organizations
Personal Injury
Probate, Wills, Trusts & Estates
Products Liability
Real Property (including Landlord-Tenant)
Tax (MN)
Trial Practice
Workers' Compensation

Treatises: Administrative - Evidence

Administrative Law

Administrative Practice and Procedure by William J. Keppel
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5840 .M53

Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2007

Volume 21 of the Minnesota Practice series. Also available online via Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research.

Minnesota Administrative Procedure
George A. Beck and Mehmet Konar-Steenberg, eds., 3rd ed. 2014. An open access eBook published by Mitchell Hamline College of Law, .

Appellate Procedure

Appellate Rules Annotated by Eric J. Magnuson, David F. Herr, et al.
Call Number: Reference Office KFM5480.M53 v.3 (Available online see below)

Publication Date: Published annually

Volume 3 and 3A of the Minnesota Practice series.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
Eighth Circuit Appellate Practice Manual by Michael E. Gans, Hon. Dana L. Oxley, et al. (Editors)
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2022 no.45

Publication Date: 10th ed., 2022 (Published annually)

Current annual edition on Reserve. Previous editions in 1st floor stacks.

Attorney-Client Privilege

Attorney-Client Privilege Deskbook by Sybil L. Dunlop, Jenny Gassman-Pines
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2018 no.34

Publication Date: 2018

Covers all aspects of attorney-client privilege with chapters covering each element (privileged communication, made in confidence, and seeking legal advice). Additonal chapters on joint defense and common interest privilege, exceptions to privilege, waiver of privilege, the work product doctrine and attorney-client privilege topics.
Client Relations Deskbook by Kent A. Gernander
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2019 no.33

Publication Date: 2019

This Minnesota CLE publication contains illustrative forms with in-depth commentary on Client/Lawyer relationships and the ethics involved therein. Forms/letters illustrate approaches and language that may be employed in common situations. The commentary addresses legal principles, including ethics rules governing client-lawyer relations. The Deskbook includes online access to an eFormbook containing 78 forms in editable files.

Bankruptcy

Bankruptcy Practice in Minnesota Deskbook by Dorraine A. Larison, Terri A. Running, et al.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2018 no.28

Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2018 - updated periodically

Two volume looseleaf set. Published by Minnesota CLE.

Business Law

Business Law Deskbook by Brent A. Olson
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: Published annually

Volumes 20 & 20A of the Minnesota Practice series. Also available on Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research. Provides introductory access to nine substantive areas of business law, involving business organizations, contracts and commercial transactions, employment law, intellectual property, marketing and distribution law, environmental law, regulation of securities—mergers and acquisitions, dissolution and bankruptcy, and actions and remedies.
Business Regulation in Minnesota by Brent A. Olson
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: Published annually

Volumes 20B - 20D of the Minnesota Practice series. Available on Westlaw & WestlawNext Campus Research. Contains state and federal statutes and regulations governing business and commercial law issues in Minnesota including a number of laws not discussed in Minnesota Business Law Deskbook.
Representing the Ongoing Business by Donald C. Willeke, ed.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2019 no. 7

Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2019

The Deskbook is part of the Minnesota CLE Business Law Series. It focuses on issues concerning small to medium-sized businesses.
Business Disputes: Claims and Remedies by Michael M. Krauss
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2021 no.33

Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2021

Minnesota CLE publication. Earlier title: Minnesota Business Torts Deskbook. Covers all aspects of business disputes.

Civil Practice

Civil Practice Forms by Roger S. Haydock, David F. Herr, et al.
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2005 (Updated annually)

Volumes 15 & 16 of the Minnesota Practice series. Also available on Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research.
Civil Rules Annotated - Minnesota Practice Series by David F. Herr, Roger S. Haydock
Call Number: Reference and Reserve KFM5480 .M53 (vols. 1-2A) (Available online see below)

Publication Date: 6th ed., 2017 (Updated periodically)

Volumes 1 - 2A of the Minnesota Practice series. This source employs the same numerical order used in the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure. In-depth history and commentary are provided for each rule along with references to case law.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
LexisNexis Practice Guide: Minnesota Pretrial Civil Litigation by George W. Soule, ed.
ISBN: 9781663324320

Publication Date: Updated annually.

Available on Lexis.
E-Discovery Deskbook by John M. Degnan, Heidi J.K. Fessler
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2023 no.5

Publication Date: 2023

Provides a comprehensive overview of the E-Discovery process, issues to be aware of, and helpful practice tips.
Elements of an Action by David F. Herr
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53 (Available online see below)

Publication Date: Republished/updated annually

Volumes 28 & 28A of the Minnesota Practice series. Provides overviews of hundreds of causes of action. Covers the elements of a prima facie case, defenses, parties, damages, and procedural matters, and provides extensive authority, practice guides and checklists, sample cases and pleadings, research references, and discussions of related causes of action.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
Federal District of Minnesota Civil Practice Deskbook by David R Crosby, Mary E Schwind
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2014 no.17

Publication Date: 2014 (Updated periodically)

Published by Minnesota CLE.
Jury Instruction Guides - Civil by Minnesota District Judges Association, Committee on Jury Instruction Guides
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53 v. 4 4A

Publication Date: 2014, 6th ed. - updated periodically

Volumes 4 & 4A of West's Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw.
MDLA Release Deskbook by David M Bateson & Richard C Scattergood
Call Number: Reference Office KFM5960.3 .M35x 2011

Publication Date: 6th ed. 2011

Published by the Minnesota Defense Lawyers Association. Covers releases and settlements and contains forms and advice for drafting and analyzing settlement and release agreements.
Methods of Practice: Civil Advocacy by Steven J. Kirsch, Roger S. Haydock & Peter B. Knapp
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: 2004 - Updated periodically

Volume 5 of the Minnesota Practice series. Also available on Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research. Includes checklist and forms.
Minnesota Civil Practice by Douglas D. McFarland, William J. Keppel
Call Number: Reserve and Reference Office KFM5930 .M31x (Available online see below)

ISBN: 9781422424773

Publication Date: 4th ed., 2008– (Updated periodically)

This three-volume publication, is organized to follow the chronology of a lawsuit, from the client interview to final judgment and appeal. Includes forms, a detailed index and finding tables to aid research.
Also available online via Lexis (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
Minnesota Jury Instruction Companion Handbook by Minnesota District Judges Association
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53 v. 4B

Publication Date: Published Annually

Volume 4B of West's Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw. Designed to be used in conjunction with Jury Instruction Guides – Civil (Volumes 4 and 4A of the Minnesota Practice Series). However, while the civil jury instruction guides provide a list of possible jury instructions, the handbook provides a complete set of actual instructions given in a particular case. This case-specific format covering 14 areas of substantive law enables readers to discern how a particular jury instruction fits into the jury charge as a whole.
Minnesota State District Court Civil Practice Deskbook by Keith S. Moheban, Hon. Mary R. Vasaly & Kenneth R. White
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2019 no.24

Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2019, updated periodically

This Minnesota CLE publication covers a wide range of practice issues including relevant cases, statutes and rules. Offers practical advice and tips.
Minnesota Summary Judgment and Related Termination Motions by Lisa McGuire
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: 2016 and republished/updated as needed

Volume 30 of the Minnesota Practice series. Also available on Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research. Covers making or opposing termination motions such as summary judgment, dismissal, or motion to strike. It provides ready-to-use citations for supporting and opposing motions, plus fully briefed sample motions for quickly creating pretrial motions.
Pirsig on Minnesota Pleading by Neil B. Davidson
Call Number: Reserve KFM5935 .P571x

Publication Date: 2008, 6th ed.

Also available on Lexis Advance. Covers pleading under the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure. Contains hundreds of sample pleadings--complaints, answers, replies, and motions--for a variety of actions, from the common to the obscure.
Time's Up: A Manual of the Statutes of Limitations in Minnesota for Civil Litigators by Civil Litigation Section, Minnesota State Bar Association
Call Number: KFM5936.L5 T56x 2020

Publication Date: 2020

The Manual identifies and organizes time limits imposed for civil claims by the Minnesota Statutes. It covers time limitations in the Minnesota Statutes, Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure, General Rules of Practice in the District Courts, and the Minnesota Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure.

Contracts

Minnesota Contracts Deskbook by William J Fisher, ed.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2016 no.40

Publication Date: 3rd ed. 2016

Published by Minnesota CLE. Covers a broad range of Minnesota contracts law in its 18 chapters. Includes a table of authorities and subject index.
LexisNexis Practice Guide: Minnesota Contract Litigation by Allen Blair, et. al.
Call Number: Reserve KFM5550 .L49x 2021

ISBN: 9781632838964

Publication Date: 2021 Updated periodically.

Part of the LexisNexis Practice Guide series. Available on Lexis. Provides practical, step-by-step guidance on all phases of contract litigation.
Negotiating, Drafting & Handling Contracts in Minnesota by Minnesota CLE
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 2015 no.6

Publication Date: 2015

Practical advice and tips covering a variety of contracts and agreements.
Drafting Your First Contract by Lenné Eidson Espenschied (Minnesota CLE)
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 2015 no.35

Publication Date: 2015

Corporations

Corporation Law and Practice by John H. Matheson, Philip S. Garon & Michael S. Stanchfield
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2013

Volumes 18 & 19 of the Minnesota Practice series. Also available on Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research.
Business Law Deskbook by Brent A. Olson
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: Published annually

Volumes 20 & 20A of the Minnesota Practice series. Also available on Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research. Provides introductory access to nine substantive areas of business law, involving business organizations, contracts and commercial transactions, employment law, intellectual property, marketing and distribution law, environmental law, regulation of securities—mergers and acquisitions, dissolution and bankruptcy, and actions and remedies.
Advising Minnesota Corporations and Other Business Organizations by Richard A. Saliterman, Roger J. Magnuson, et al.
Call Number: Reserve KFM5613.S25 2011

Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2011

A multi-volume, comprehensive reference and treatise. Covers issues confronting a business, from initial promotion and start-up, through governance, financial distress, confrontation and litigation, to dissolution.
Corporations Deskbook (Minnesota CLE) by Minnesota Continuing Legal Education
Call Number: Reserve KF209.M54x 2010 no.46

Publication Date: 2010, Updated 2016. (Updated periodically)

Designed to serve as a primary reference aid for practicing attorneys. Each chapter includes practice tips, designed to provide specific insight for handling situations that commonly occur in practice. "Formerly the Corporations and LLCs Deskbook, the new Corporations Deskbook addresses Corporations (and LLCs formed prior to 8/1/2015), while the new LLCs Deskbook address LLCs created 8/1/2015 and after)."
Representing the Ongoing Business by Donald C. Willeke, ed.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2019 no. 7

Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2019

The Deskbook is part of the Minnesota CLE Business Law Series. It focuses on issues concerning small to medium-sized businesses.
LLCs Deskbook by William D. Klein, Jessica Manivasager & Wade Wacholz, eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2021 no.36

Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2021

Published by Minnesota CLE. Covers Minnesota's Revised Uniform LLC Act. Provides comparisons with the old act. Includes forms. "Formerly covered by the Corporations and LLCs Deskbook, the new LLCs Deskbook addresses LLCs created 8/1/2015 and after."
Minnesota Nonprofit Deskbook by J. Patrick Plunkett & Heidi Neff Christianson, eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2011 no. 84

Publication Date: 2011- updated periodically

Published by Minnesota CLE. Includes forms.
Mission Statement, Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws for a Nonprofit Corporation by J. Plunkett & Heidi Neff Christianson
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 2011 no.98

Publication Date: 2011

Part of the Minnesota CLE, Docs Made Easy Series

Criminal Law & Procedure

Criminal Law and Procedure by Henry W. McCarr, Jack S. Nordby
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53 (Available online see below)

Publication Date: 2012, (Updated periodically)

Volumes 7, 8, 9, & 9A of the Minnesota Practice Series. Provides discussion and analysis of Minnesota criminal law and procedure.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only), and WestlawNext Campus Research.
Minnesota Criminal Law by Scott Hersey & Thomas Lockhart
Call Number: Reserve KFM5979 .L49x

ISBN: 9781522100188

Publication Date: 2017

Part of the LexisNexis Practice Guide series. Available on Lexis. Current edition on Reserve and updated periodically. Covers the entire process of a criminal trial in Minnesota, from the initial representation of a client through sentencing and post-sentencing procedures and much more.
Jury Instruction Guides - Criminal by Minnesota District Judges Association, Committee on Criminal Jury Instruction Guides - Criminal
Call Number: Reserve (KFM5480 .M53 v. 10 10A

Publication Date: 2015, 6th ed.

Vols. 10 & 10A of West's Minnesota Practice Series.
Minnesota Misdemeanors: DWI, Traffic, Criminal and Ordinance Offenses by Martin J Costello
Call Number: Reserve KFM5975 .C673x

ISBN: 9781632845986

Publication Date: 2013, Updated periodically

Also available on Lexis Advance. Provides comprehensive coverage of the procedural issues involved in pretrial, trial, and appellate practice for offenses ranging from enhanced gross misdemeanors to traffic violations.
Minnesota Judges Criminal Benchbook by Minnesota Judges Criminal Benchbook Committee, eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2016 no.25

Publication Date: 2016, 7th ed.

"...serves as a starting point for the legal research necessary to untangle complex criminal issues." Includes specialized chapters on driving while impaired, sexual assault and abuse, domestic abuse issues, extradition, and juvenile delinquency. It’s also filled with practice tips, examples, notes, and caveats from practitioners on both sides of the bench, as well as judges.
Minnesota DWI Handbook by Douglas Voigt Hazelton
Call Number: Reference Office & Reserve KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: 2017/2018 updated periodically

Volume 31 of the Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research.
Minnesota DWI Deskbook by Marsh J. Halberg, ed.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2017 no.44

Publication Date: 2017, 4th ed.

This Minnesota CLE publication provides comprehensive analysis of the full spectrum of DWI topics.

Debtor and Creditor

Debtor-Creditor Handbook by James L. Baillie & Phillip L. Kunkel
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 2014 no.48

Publication Date: 11th ed., 2014, (Updated periodically)

This Minnesota CLE publication is a user-friendly guide to judgments and execution, precollection practice, debtor’s assets, liens, collection and defense, secured and unsecured creditors, and more. Includes forms.
Collections Handbook by Allan J Zlimen
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: Annual

Volume 26 of the Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw & WestlawNext Campus Research. Covers the practice, procedure, and substantive law of recovering money and property. Includes forms.

Dispute Resolution

Minnesota ADR Handbook by Gary A. Weissman, Linda M. Mealey-Lohmann and Leslie Sinner McEvoy
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 2011 no.33

Publication Date: 2011

This Minnesota CLE publication is designed as a one-stop guide to the practical aspects, statutes, rules, and requirements governing ADR in Minnesota.
General Rules of Practice Annotated - Minnesota Practice Series
Call Number: KFM5480 .M53

ISBN: 9780314841698

Publication Date: 2016 updated annually

Volume 3A of the Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw & WestlawNext Campus Research. See Rule 114, Alternative Dispute Resolution

Elder Law

Elder Law Handbook by Mark L. Anderson, Amber M. Hildebrandt, et al. (Editors)
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2012 no.86

Publication Date: 5th ed., 2022 (Updated periodically)

A Minnesota CLE publication.

Employment & Labor Law

Employment Law and Practice by Stephen F. Befort
Call Number: Reserve & Reference Office KFM5480 .M53 2020 (Available online see below)

Publication Date: 4th ed., 2020 (Updated periodically)

Volume 17 of the Minnesota Practice Series.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
Employment in Minnesota: A Guide to Employment Laws, Regulations, and Practices by Maynard G. Sautter
Call Number: E-book access via LexisNexis Digital Library

ISBN: 9780327124603

Publication Date: 3rd ed., 1997 (Updated periodically)

Covers the entire employment relationship from hiring through termination or retirement and includes both Minnesota and federal law. Coverage includes: hiring, hours of work and payment of wages, health and safety standards, civil rights, union organizing, collective bargaining and strikes, employer liability for employees' acts, and much more.
Access to e-book version limited to U of M Law students, faculty, and staff.
Print copy available on Reserve KFM5731 .S28x
LIttler on Minnesota Employment Law by Littler Mendelson
Call Number: KFM5731 .M46x 2017

ISBN: 9781522130284

Publication Date: 2017

Designed to help employers identify and apply various state employment law requirements. It follows the employment-tracking requirements from pre-hire, time of hire, during employment, and through to the end of employment.
Job Applicant Screening: A Practice Guide by Susan K. Fitzke & Margaret Luger-Nikolai, eds.
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 2014 no.46

Publication Date: 2014

This Minnesota CLE publication, "... provides a comprehensive overview of the application and interview process for prospective employers."
Wage and Hour Handbook: Federal and Minnesota by J. Lukas, Robert R. Reinhart, Ellen G. Sampson & Mary B. Thomas, eds.
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 2011 no.48

Publication Date: 2011

Designed to answer critical questions in this area of practice. It is written and edited by a diverse team of attorneys drawn from private practice and in-house, plaintiff side and defense.
FMLA Handbook by Steven R. Anderson, Mary M. Krakow, et al. (Editors)
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2016 no.37

Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2016

A Minnesota CLE publication.
Pregnancy Accommodation and Non-Discrimination by Marilyn Clark, Jenny Gassman-Pines & Steven Andrew Smith, eds
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2017 no.22

Publication Date: 2017

A practical guide to complying with legal obligations at all stages: pre-hiring, before and during pregnancy and after baby arrives. Includes plaintiff & defense attorney practice pointers
Sexual Harassment by Jean M. Boler, Tina Burnside & Judith B. Langevin, eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2018 no.27

Publication Date: 2018

A Minnesota CLE handbook. Covers a variety of topics related to sexual harassment, including what constitutes sexual harassment, creating anti-harassment policies, providing effective training to prevent sexual harassment, investigating and responding to claims, and more.
Internal Employment Investigations Handbook by Patricia Y. Beety, Donald M. Lewis & Lawrence P. Schaefer, eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2015 no.40

Publication Date: 2015

This Minnesota CLE publication, "...provides practical guidance for conducting effective internal employment investigations – as well as answers and analysis regarding the workplace and litigation consequences of investigation mistakes."
Discipline and Discharge Handbook by Robert C. Boisvert, Jr., Penelope J. Phillips, et al. (Editors)
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 2014 no.44

Publication Date: 2nd ed., 2014

A Minnesota CLE publication.

Ethics/Professional Responsibility

Minnesota Legal Ethics: A Treatise by William J. Wernz
Call Number: Reference Office KFM5476.5.A2 W47x

Publication Date: 2018, 8th ed.

Available for free download from the Minnesota State Bar Association.
Dealing with and Defending Ethics Complaints by William J. Wernz
Publication Date: 2017

Available for free download from the Minnesota State Bar Association.

Evidence (see also: Trial Practice)

Evidence by Peter N. Thompson
Call Number: Reserve and Reference Office KFM5480 .M53 (Available online see below)

Publication Date: 5th ed., 2023 (Updated periodically)

Volume 11 of the Minnesota Practice Series.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
Minnesota Courtroom Evidence Deskbook by Diane B. Bratvold, Edward T. Wahl, Fred Karasov editor
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2021 no.35

Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2021 (updated periodically)

Explanation and analysis of Minnesota evidence rules.
Rulings on Evidence : an Evidentiary Manual for Minnesota Trial Judges and Judicial Officers (and Attorneys) by Gordon Shumaker
Call Number: KF209 .M54x 2013 no.33

Publication Date: 2013

A Minnesota CLE publication. "... an easy-to-use guide to evidence for judges and attorneys. This practical evidence manual gives guidance on how to analyze common evidentiary issues, what key points to be aware of and important factors to consider when ruling on evidentiary issues or when presenting evidence to the court. Full of great judicial insight and tips, this book is written for trial judges and judicial officers, as well as practicing attorneys."
Courtroom Handbook of Minnesota Evidence by Peter N. Thompson, David F. Herr
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53 (Available online see below)

ISBN: 9780314841728

Publication Date: 2016– (Annual)

Volume 11A of Minnesota Practice Series, a compact, ready-reference source for the text of Minnesota Rules of Evidence. Includes commentary and analysis of the rules.
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
Minnesota Trial Objections by Peter N. Thompson & David F. Herr
Call Number: Reserve KFM5940 .H47x 2008

ISBN: 9780314991836

Publication Date: 2008

A basic guide to objections frequently made during pretrial depositions and trial. It incorporates the general norms that have developed from custom, tradition, and precedent.
Minnesota Motions in Limine by Lisa McGuire & David N. Finley
Call Number: KFM5480 .M53 v.29

ISBN: 9780314841919

Publication Date: 2017 (annual)

Volume 29 of the Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw & WestlawNext Campus Research.

Treatises: Family Law - Workers' Compensation

Family Law

Minnesota Family Law Practice Manual by Cathy E. Gorlin (Editor), Neil B. Davidson
Call Number: E-book access via Lexis Digital Library

ISBN: 0327110007

Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2001– (Updated periodically)

Also available online via Lexis (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
Print copy available on Reserve KFM5494 .D38x
Family Law (Vol. 14, Minnesota Practice Series) by Michael P. Boulette
Call Number: Reserve and Reference Office KFM5480 .M53 (Available online see below)

Publication Date: 2023 ed. (Updated annually)

Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, student, and staff only).
Minnesota Child Custody Deskbook by Gary A. Debele, ed.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2016 no.64

Publication Date: 2016, 3rd ed.

Two volume looseleaf.
Minnesota Divorce Practice Deskbook by Scott M.Rodman & Joani C. Moberg
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2015 no.54

Publication Date: 2015 Updated periodically

A Minnesota CLE publication.
Family Law Financial Deskbook by Jana Aune Deach, Thomas W. Harjes, et al. (Editors)
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2020 no.18

Publication Date: 3rd ed., 2020 (Updated periodically)

A Minnesota CLE publication.

Immigration Law

Immigration Practice Deskbook by Nelson L. Peralta & Paschal O. Nwokocha, eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2015 no.55

Publication Date: 2015 (Updated periodically)

Provides a comprehensive overview of immigration law and practice. Includes over 30 valuable sample and annotated forms, checklists, and other helpful practice-based aids. The 2018 Update to the Immigration Practice Deskbook includes updates to all 12 chapters.

See also the Law Library's research guide, Immigration Law Research

Insurance Law

Insurance Law and Practice by Britton D. Weimer, Clarance E Hagglund, and Andrew F Whitman
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: 2010, 2nd ed. Updated periodically

Volumes 22, 22A & 22B of West's Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw.
Minnesota Insurance Law Deskbook by John R. Crawford, ed.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2011 no.44

Publication Date: 2011, 4th ed. Updated periodically

One volume, Minnesota CLE publication.
Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance by Michael K. Steenson
Call Number: KFM5591.A46 S732

ISBN: 9780327168461

Publication Date: 3d ed. 2002, (print copy ceased publication in 2019)

This publication is no longer updated in print, but is updated and available online to U of M Law faculty and students via Lexis Advance. Covers the history of and policy behind the Minnesota no-fault act, its provisions, how the courts have interpreted those provisions, how it affects insurance companies, vehicle owners, and others involved in accidents, and how it relates to uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance, tort actions, subrogation and indemnity, arbitration, and conflict of laws.

Juvenile Law

Juvenile Law and Practice by Robert E. Scott and John O. Sonsteng
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: 2013, 4th ed. updated periodically

Volumes 12 & 13 of West's Minnesota Practice. Also available on Westlaw.

Motor Vehicle Law

Minnesota Motor Vehicle Accident Deskbook by Michael R. Fargione, Paul F. McEllistrem & Andrew J. Rorvig
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2019 no.16

Publication Date: 6th ed. 2019

In-depth procedural and substantive guidance on claims involving motor vehicles. Covers both plaintiff and defense perspectives.
Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance by Michael K. Steenson
Call Number: KFM5591.A46 S732

ISBN: 9780327168461

Publication Date: 3d ed. 2002, (print copy ceased publication in 2019)

This publication is no longer updated in print, but is updated and available online to U of M Law faculty and students via Lexis Advance. Covers the history of and policy behind the Minnesota no-fault act, its provisions, how the courts have interpreted those provisions, how it affects insurance companies, vehicle owners, and others involved in accidents, and how it relates to uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance, tort actions, subrogation and indemnity, arbitration, and conflict of laws.
Minnesota DWI Deskbook by Marsh J. Halberg, ed.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2017 no.44

Publication Date: 2017, 4th ed.

This Minnesota CLE publication provides comprehensive analysis of the full spectrum of DWI topics.
Minnesota DWI Handbook by Douglas Voigt Hazelton
Call Number: Reference Office & Reserve KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: 2017/2018 updated periodically

Volume 31 of the Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw and WestlawNext Campus Research.

Non-Profit Organizations

Minnesota Nonprofit Deskbook by J. Patrick Plunkett & Heidi Neff Christianson, eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2011 no. 84

Publication Date: 2011- updated periodically

Published by Minnesota CLE. Includes forms.

Personal Injury

LexisNexis Practice Guide: Minnesota Personal Injury by Peter G. Van Bergen
Call Number: Reserve KFM5939 .P4 L49x 2019

ISBN: 9780769855905

Publication Date: Updated annually.

Part of the LexisNexis Practice Guide series. Also available on Lexis. Current edition on reserve. A concise practice guide to personal injury subjects covering procedural and substantive law issues. Include practice tips and strategies and forms, checklists, and more.

Probate, Wills, Trusts & Estates

Minnesota Estate Planning by Philip J. Ruce
Call Number: Reserve KFM5544.A15 L49x

ISBN: 9781522160687

Publication Date: Updated annually.

Part of the LexisNexis Practice Guide series. Current edition on Reserve and on Lexis.
Stein on Probate: Administration of Decedents' Estates - Minnesota by Robert A. Stein
Call Number: Reserve KFM5544 .S71x

ISBN: 9780327164074

Publication Date: 2004, 4th ed. updated periodically

Also available on Lexis Advance. A comprehensive, authoritative, and practical reference on Minnesota probate law. Provides explanation and analysis of the rules and procedures governing the administration of a decedent's estate, including Minnesota's income tax, inheritance tax, and estate tax collection procedures.
Minnesota Probate Deskbook by Mary Alice Fleming & John R. Bedosky
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53 v.24

Publication Date: Published Annually

Volume 24 of West's Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw.
Minnesota Probate & Trust Law Deskbook by Dale J. Schoonover, ed.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2015 no.70

Publication Date: 2015, 7th ed. - updated periodically

A Minnesota CLE publication.
Drafting Wills and Trust Agreements by Minnesota Continuing Legal Education
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2018 no.53

Publication Date: 8th ed., 2018– (Updated periodically)

A two volume Minnesota CLE publication. Includes forms.
Minnesota Estate Administration Deskbook by Susan J. Link
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2017 no.13

Publication Date: 2017, 5th ed.

Minnesota CLE publication.
Minnesota Trust Administration Deskbook by Sheryl G. Morrison & Robert W. Mairs, eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2014 no.41

Publication Date: 2014, 3rd ed. - updated periodically

A Minnesota CLE publication, Covering everything from the initial trust analysis and creation to funding and investment, venue and jurisdiction, litigation, and termination.
Minnesota Guardianship & Conservatorship Law Handbook by Robert A. McLeod
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2013 no.10

Publication Date: 2013, 2nd ed. - updated periodically

A Minnesota CLE publication. Covers all aspects of guardianship and conservatorship law. Includes practice tips, procedural checklists.

Products Liability

Products Liability Law by Michael K. Steenson, J. David Prince & Sarah L. Brew
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53

Publication Date: 2006, updated periodically

Vol. 27 of West's Minnesota Practice series. Also available on Westlaw.

Real Property

Minnesota Real Estate Litigation by Timothy A. Sullivan & Mark Thieroff
Call Number: Reserve KFM5512 .L49x

ISBN: 9781522101741

Publication Date: Updated annually.

Part of the LexisNexis Practice Guide series. Available on Lexis. Current edition on Reserve. Practical guidance on issues that frequently arise in real estate litigation. Includes tips, warnings, analysis, and forms.
Minnesota Boundary Law Deskbook by Charles "Huck" Andresen, Charles D. Hoyum & Cindy K. Telstad, eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2016 no.29

Publication Date: 2016 - updated periodically
Minnesota Real Estate Laws by Eileen Roberts
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53 v. 25A-25B

Publication Date: Published Annually

Volumes 25A & 25B of West's Minnesota Practice Series. Contains sections of the Minnesota Statutes that are relevant to the real estate practitioner, general practitioner, or to real estate professionals.
Minnesota Real Estate Purchase & Sale Deskbook by Angela M. Christy, Mark E. Hamel & Timothy J. Hassett
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2015 no.31

Publication Date: 2015, 2nd ed. - updated periodically

A Minnesota CLE publication.
Minnesota Real Estate Titles Deskbook: Examining Title and Clearing Title Defects by Nancy K. Landmark & Scott M. Lucas
Call Number: Reserve KFM209 .M54x 2019 no.1

Publication Date: 2019
Minnesota Residential Real Estate by James D. Olson
Call Number: Reserve KFM5526 .O47 1991

ISBN: 0880638621

Publication Date: 1991, updated periodically

Also available on Lexis Advance. A two volume looseleaf treatise, updated twice a year. Covers all aspects of Minnesota residential real estate transactions.
Real Estate Law by Eileen Roberts
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53 v.25

Publication Date: Published annually

Volume 25 of West's Minnesota Practice series. Also availalble on Westlaw.

Residential Eviction Defense and Tenant Claims in Minnesota, by Lawrence McDonough,16th ed. 2019
This online treatise to eviction defense and tenant claims is an essential resource for researching landlord tenant law in Minnesota.

Tax

Minnesota Tax Handbook: A Profile of State and Local Taxes in Minnesota by Minnesota Dept. of Revenue Research Office
Call Number: HJ11.M656

Publication Date: Published Biennially

Also available online (PDF) from the Dept. of Revenue website (Research & Reports). The Minnesota Tax Handbook is published biennially, with a smaller Supplement published in the intervening years. The first section provides a profile of each state tax including tax base, rates, collection amounts, and legislative history. The second section profiles each local tax in a similar manner. The last section contains state and local tax collections for the two most recent years.

Trial Practice (see also: Civil & Appellate Procedure; Criminal Law & Procedure; Evidence)

Trial Handbook for Minnesota Lawyers by James B. Sheehy & Ronald I. Meshbesher
Call Number: Reserve KFM5480 .M53 v.23

Publication Date: Published Annually

Volume 23 of the Minnesota Practice Series. Also available on Westlaw. Covers common issues and problems in civil and criminal trials, from role and right to counsel to judgments.
The Toolbox: the Mechanics of Trying the Case by Michael A. Bryant
Call Number: Reserve (KFM5597.P3 T66x 2008

Publication Date: 2008, 3rd ed.

A publication of the Minnesota Association for Justice.
Minnesota Trial Objections by Peter N. Thompson & David F. Herr
Call Number: Reserve KFM5940 .H47x 2008

ISBN: 9780314991836

Publication Date: 2008

A basic guide to objections frequently made during pretrial depositions and trial. It incorporates the general norms that have developed from custom, tradition, and precedent.

Workers' Compensation

Minnesota Workers' Compensaton Deskbook by Jay T. Hartman & Thomas D. Mottaz, et. al. eds.
Call Number: Reserve KF209 .M54x 2018 no.54

Publication Date: 2018, 6th ed. - updated periodically

A Minnesota CLE publication.