Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Foreign Law Research

Subject Collections of Codes and Statutes

One very useful source of information on current foreign law is the "subject collection," a database or hard-copy publication that collects laws on one topic from several countries. Most of these collections describe other countries' laws; a few provide the texts. The U of M has several excellent collections on various subjects, some of which are listed below. One way to find a subject collection that covers the country of your interest is to use the Law Library of Congress's Global Legal Information Catalog

Agriculture

Antitrust

Banking

Bankruptcy

Business Organizations

Citizenship/Nationality

Commercial Law

Constitutions

Copyright

Criminal Law

Environmental Law

Family Law

Health/Population Law

Human Rights

Background Sources:

National (Domestic) Case Law:

For more sources on international human rights law, go here.

Humanitarian Law

Intellectual Property

Current Awareness Sources:

  • Intellectual Property Watch: a non-profit independent news service that reports on the interests and behind-the-scenes dynamics that influence the design and implementation of international intellectual property policies.
  • Nigerian Law Intellectual Property Watch: non-profit organization that provides an extensive online repository of Nigerian intellectual property case laws, statutes, articles, research papers, and news reports.

Labor/Employment Law

Mergers and Acquisitions

Minority Rights

Non-Profits

Patent Law

Same-Sex Relationships

Securities Regulation

Taxation


University of Minnesota Law Library
Reference Desk: 612-625-4309 • Circulation Desk: 612-625-4300 • Contact Us