Legal History Research Guide

Coverage includes 800+ legal periodicals, law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes, government publications and books, (dates of coverage vary but begin no earlier than 1980 for periodicals and 1993 for books).

A bibliographic database consisting of citations from the print editions of Index to Legal Periodicals published between 1908-1981. Coverage includes over 750 legal periodicals (law reviews, bar association journals, university publications, yearbooks, institutes and government publications) published in the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.

Among the resources included in the C19 Index is the Nineteenth-Century Short Title Index (NTSC). The NTSC indexes monographs published in Britain, its colonies, and the U.S. from the 19th century through World War I.

Digitized text and images from 17th and 18th century America. Search and browse various types of documents on topics related to government, law, crime, history, politics, health, philosophy, labor, economics and trade, languages, military, literature, law and crime, people, science, theology, and society, customs, and manners.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional, state and territorial resolutions.

The works contained in EBBO include a broad scope of subject areas. Official dates of coverage are 1473-1700, corresponding to the dates covered in the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing short title catalogues, and the Thomason Tract and Tract Supplement collections. However, there are a few hundred items in EEBO that were printed after 1700. Most of these are later reproductions or reprints of originals.

The works contained in EBBO include a broad scope of subject areas. Official dates of coverage are 1473-1700, corresponding to the dates covered in the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing short title catalogues, and the Thomason Tract and Tract Supplement collections. However, there are a few hundred items in EEBO that were printed after 1700. Most of these are later reproductions or reprints of originals.

ECCO contains over 180,000 searchable, full-text, publications (primarily in English) printed in the UK and elsewhere between 1701 and 1800. Users can limit searches to specific subject areas such as law or browse an alphabetical list of titles. The legal publications in this collection represent the varied genres of the period including: abridgements, accounts, acts, answers, collections, decisions, defenses, dialogs, lists, minutes, narratives, petitions proceedings, proposals, treatises and trials.

Includes over 4,500 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Story, Bentham, Blackstone, Holdsworth, Maine, Maitland, Pollock, Cardozo, and more. The collection focuses on constitutional law, comparative law, political science and other classic topics.

A digital collection of federal executive, legislative and judicial branch documents. Also includes select state, foreign, international materials and special focus collections covering a wide range of specialized areas of law. Offers a variety of search options.

A full-text digital image archive of 22,000 legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Browse feature (by author or title) and full-text search engine provided.

A full-text searchable archive of primary source documents from as early as 1620 and up to 1979. Includes constitutional conventions and compilations (reports, journals, proceedings, and debates, and supplementary documents published by the conventions including, manuals, rules of order, and information for the use of delegates); city charters (the texts of enacted and proposed charters and ordinances in American jurisdictions); law dictionaries; early U.S. state codes; and colonial records.

Contains the full-text digital images of thousands of books and pamphlets covering Anglo-American trials, from the beginning of the modern period to the early in twentieth century. In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions, English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions such as France are included. Books encompassing multiple trials are included as well as books about a single trial. Browse feature (by author or title) and full-text search engine provided.

This collection includes historical statutory materials (codes, statutes, session laws) and analogous materials from canon law and Roman law. Commentaries that provide interpretive analysis of these primary sources are also included. A broad range of jurisdictions and legal systems are covered.

A digital archive of pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs. The international law component features classic works of great legal theorists, such as Gentili, Grotius, and Selden, and others. The foreign law component offers legal treatises from a variety of common-law countries and equivalent works in civil-law systems (commentaries, encyclopedias, textbooks, monographs, or festschriften). The comparative law component includes Ancient, Roman, Jewish Law and Islamic Law.

Provides both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems, from ancient to modern times (Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law), and the laws of other regions such as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. Major categories of law explained in detail include private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), public law (statutory, criminal, etc.), and higher or constitutional law.