Research Guides: Legal History Research Guide: Additional Research Guides & Resources

Research Guides

The Yale Law School Guide to Research in American Legal History by Morris L. Cohen; John B. Nann
Call Number: Law Reference Office KF240.N36 2018
ISBN: 0300118538
Publication Date: 2018
Online version also available via JSTOR ebooks..
A Brief American Legal History in a Nutshell by Michael C. Blumm
Call Number: E-book access via West Academic Study Aids
ISBN: 9781685617028
Publication Date: 2023
Access to e-book version limited to U of M Law students, faculty, and staff.
Print copy available on Reserve KF352 .B58 2023
The Oxford Handbook of Legal History by Markus D. Dubber & Christopher Tomlins, eds.
Call Number: K140 .O94 2018
ISBN: 0198794355
Publication Date: 2018
Ebook version available on Oxford Handbooks Online. Part I: Locating Legal History; Part II: Approaches: Conceptualizing Legal History; Part III: Perspectives: Legal History in Modern Legal Thought; Part IV: Traditions Tracing Legal History; Part V: Illustrations: Doing Things with Legal History; Adjudication of Indigenous-Settle Relations; Cultural Genocide: Between Law and History; Historians' Amicus Briefs: Practice and Prospect.
Prestatehood Legal Materials: A Fifty-State Research Guide, Including New York City and the District of Columbia by Michael G. Chiorazzi and Marguerite Most, eds.
Call Number: HeinOnline and Reference Office KF240 .P688 2005
ISBN: 0789020823
Publication Date: 2005
The definitive guide and finding aid for prestatehood legal research. Minnesota is covered in Chapter 24, "Minnesota Legal Materials from Wilderness to Statehood," by Anna M. Cherry. An updated online database "Prestatehood Legal Materials" is available on HeinOnline.

American Legal History Research Guide (University of Chicago)
An extensive research guide (PDF) to legal history research with special emphasis on materials in hardcopy, microform and electronic formats available at the University of Chicago and other locations in the Chicago area.
Legal History (Tarlton Law Library, University of Texas)
An excellent overview of legal history resources and research tools covering multiple legal traditions.
Legal History on the Web (Triangle Legal History Seminar)
This website provides an annotated overview of online legal history resources in English, from all historical periods and regions of the world.
Rechtshistorie A Gateway to Legal History
Website of legal history scholar Otto Vervaart. The site provides introductions to the history of a number of legal systems and periods (Roman law, Medieval law, Canon law, Common law, and Old Dutch law). In addition to the introductory text for each legal system numerous references and links to print and web resources are also provided.
Ancient Law (excluding Roman Law) (Oxford LibGuides)
A highly recommended research guide by the Bodleian Law Library, University of Oxford. "The guide covers the laws of ancient civilisations situated in the geographical area around the eastern Mediterranean- the ancient Near Eastern, Egyptian, Greek, Jewish & Islamic societies which flourished during the first four millenniums BCE and were responsible for many of the very earliest recorded laws and legal systems."
Roman Law (Oxford LibGuides)
A highly recommended research guide by the Bodleian Law Library, University of Oxford.
Legal history: western Europe (Oxford LibGuides)
A highly recommended research guide by the Bodleian Law Library, University of Oxford.
Legal History: England & Common Law Tradition (Oxford LibGuides)
Highly recommended guide to English legal history research by the Bodleian Law Library, University of Oxford.
Scottish Law (Oxford LibGuides)
A highly recommended research guide by the Bodleian Law Library, University of Oxford. Includes a separate section devoted to Scottish legal history.
Witchcraft & the law of early modern Europe & USA (Oxford LibGuides)
A comprehensive guide to the topic for identifying essential research resources.

Additional Research Resources

Directory of State and Territorial Archives and Records Programs
This directory by the Council of State Archivists provides links to state archives and records offices for U.S. states and territories.
State Archives
This directory to state archives and records offices is maintained by the Archives Library Information Center of the National Archives. It includes links to websites, address, email, phone contact information.

ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more from over 1,000 different archival institutions. ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.

Legal History Project
Features links to legal history resources: research centers, academic programs, special collections, course web sites and syllabi, legal history-related organizations, and on-line legal text sources. The web site also offers interviews with legal scholars, and a legal history blog, Juridicus.