Legal History Research Guide

Provides both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems, from ancient to modern times (Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Medieval Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, United States Law), and the laws of other regions such as Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. Major categories of law explained in detail include private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), public law (statutory, criminal, etc.), and higher or constitutional law.

Digital archive of 48 nineteenth century British newspapers. Includes national and regional newspapers including those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales.

The works contained in EBBO include a broad scope of subject areas. Official dates of coverage are 1473-1700, corresponding to the dates covered in the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing short title catalogues, and the Thomason Tract and Tract Supplement collections. However, there are a few hundred items in EEBO that were printed after 1700. Most of these are later reproductions or reprints of originals.

The works contained in EBBO include a broad scope of subject areas. Official dates of coverage are 1473-1700, corresponding to the dates covered in the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing short title catalogues, and the Thomason Tract and Tract Supplement collections. However, there are a few hundred items in EEBO that were printed after 1700. Most of these are later reproductions or reprints of originals.

ECCO contains over 180,000 searchable, full-text, publications (primarily in English) printed in the UK and elsewhere between 1701 and 1800. Users can limit searches to specific subject areas such as law or browse an alphabetical list of titles. The legal publications in this collection represent the varied genres of the period including: abridgements, accounts, acts, answers, collections, decisions, defenses, dialogs, lists, minutes, narratives, petitions proceedings, proposals, treatises and trials.

This HeinOnline collection provides exact page images of the original bound reprint edition, containing more than 100,000 cases, together with the Indexes and Book of Charts. Useful navigation tools, such as a Case Locator, Chart Tool, and an Advanced Search provide enhanced access to specific cases. This collection also includes is the Statutes of the Realm (1235-1713), along with Pre-1865 Law Reports.

vLex Justis provides access to the English Reports containing over 100,000 of the most important cases reported between 1220 and 1873. Documents are available in PDF format (page images of the original bound reprint edition). Full-text searching and other advance search features and finding aids are available. NOTE: Link directs to vLexJustis. Select "All Countries & International" under Advanced search, "Case Law" under Content, and then scroll down to "Report Series" and select English Reports.

Search primary source collections of the nineteenth century (1800s) with books, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. Topics include British politics, theater and music; European literature, Asian exploration, photography, and more.

Formerly called - House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest). Encompasses all areas of social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how issues were explored and legislation was formed. Includes House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. Includes Records of proceedings, the Debates (Hansard), and the House of Commons journal; Sessional papers providing information to parliament on matters of policy and administration: Bills, House papers, and Command papers. Also includes those Papers of the House of Lords presented to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees.

Includes the Selden Society Annual Series, Selden Society Supplementary Series and the Centenary Guide to the Publications of the Selden Society published in 1987. It also includes more than 220 English Legal History Classics including abridgements, digests and dictionaries. Moreover, you will be able to access early English case law and link to other online publications in early English history.

State Papers Online, 1509-1714 (Gale) is a collection of English government documents originating from the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries--when the King or Queen acted as Prime Minister as well as Monarch. The papers feature the office archives and correspondence of the secretaries of state serving the Monarch as facsimile manuscript documents accessed directly or via the fully searchable Calendar entries (abstracts or transcriptions). This collection contains information on every facet of English government, including social and economic affairs, law and order, religious policy, crown possessions and intelligence gathering as well as Britain's international relations and foreign policy.

vLex Justis provides access to State Trials which contains English trials relating to offences against the State or trials illustrative of the law relating to State Officers (high treason, bigamy, sedition, libel, murder involving high-ranking officials, riot, piracy, witchcraft, bribery and corruption). Includes the Howell's/Cobbett's State Trials (1163-1822) and the New Series (Macdonell's) (1822-1858) and additional material sourced from the National Collections and the English (Nominate Reports). NOTE: Link directs to vLexJustis. Select "All Countries & International" under Advanced search, "Case Law" under Content, and then scroll down to "Report Series" and select State Trials.

An authoritative, historical archive of the British statutes from 1235 - 1713, in 11 volumes. Includes an alphabetical and chronological index.

Full-text copies of laws passed by the Protestant Parliament of Ireland which regulated the status of Roman Catholics through most of the 18th century. This site contains the text of those Penal Laws passed in Ireland during the reigns of William and Mary, William III, Anne, and George I and II, from 1691 to 1760. It also contains certain English statutes relating to the status of Irish Catholics.

Includes the Stair Society Main (Annual) Series beginning with vol. 53 (1958); Supplementary Series; various other treatises and works; scholarly law review articles and links to research guides on Scottish legal history.