Research Guides: Minnesota Law Research Guide: Home

Research Starting Points

This research guide provides useful starting points for Minnesota legal research. It covers major primary and secondary sources.

Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources Policy
Access to some of the databases in this guide is restricted to members affiliated with the Law School or the University of Minnesota Twin Cities campus. Please see our Acceptable Use of Electronic Resources Policy for details.

When beginning a research project on an unfamiliar topic, it is helpful to consult treatises and legal encyclopedias covering your topic. They explain the law and provide references to relevant statutes, regulations, and cases. The treatise and legal encyclopedia sets listed below are particularly useful reference sources for researching topics in Minnesota law.

Dunnell Minnesota Digest: An Encyclopedia of Minnesota Law
Call Number: Reference and Reference Office KFM5457 .D86 2023 (Available online see below)
Publication Date: 7th ed., 2023 (Updated periodically)
This multi-volume encyclopedia is an excellent starting point for researching issues involving Minnesota law.
Also available online via Lexis (U of M Law faculty, students, and staff only).
Minnesota Practice
Call Number: Reserve and Reference Office KFM5480 .M53 (Available online see below)
Publication Date: (Updated Periodically)
Also available online via Westlaw (U of M Law faculty, students, and staff only). This multi-volume series consists of separately titled treatises. It includes a general index for the entire series. The volumes provide well-written descriptions of major areas of Minnesota law and include overviews, practice tips, case and statute citations, and forms.

Minnesota Law Research Guide

Guide Author

Have a Question? Ask Us!

Research Starting Points