International Human Rights (LAW 6886)

There are several places to search for case law from national courts and international tribunals.  Ideally, you already know which cases apply to your topic from your early research in books and articles.  Finding a case when you already have a citation from a footnote in an article is easy.  For fishing expeditions, try these:

• University of Minnesota Human Rights Library's regional materials. 
• International Committee for the Red Cross has a database that tracks national implementation of international law.  It includes some cases.
• Oxford's list of the 50 landmark human rights cases.
• Oxford's Reports on International Law: covers case law from international courts and dispute settlement bodies, in addition to states and certain territorial entities that are not generally classified as states.
• OHCHR: the Office of the High Commissioner for Human RIghts offers a database of jurisprudence from U.N. treaty bodies that receive and consider complaints from individuals.
• UNHCR: the United Nations High Commissioner of Human Rights, through its RefWorld database, provides jurisprudence organized by country and topic and court interventions by country or topic (court interventions can include amicus curiae, advisory opinions & public statements.
• WorldLII: The World Legal Information Institute's international courts and tribunals database has selected cases
• World Courts.com: database that provides case law from a variety of courts
• Individual Courts, such as:
  • African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights via University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
  • ECHR: European Court of Human Rights's HUDOC database.
  • Inter-American Court of Human Rights: this link sends you to the decisions on the court's website
    • Inter-American Court of Human Rights Project: case law database of the Loyola Los Angeles Int'l & Comp. L. Rev.
    • Westlaw's Inter-American Commission on Human Rights Decisions from 1994-: WestlawNext Home Page -> International Materials -> International Journals -> Multinational Journals 
  • International Court of Justice
  • International Criminal Court: select situations and cases
  • International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia
  • International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
• Specialized (topical) databases:
  • European Database of Asylum Law